Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
They were light & flaky, however, completely tasteless! Won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Little effort, big reward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahlia Travers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Fast and simple...my family loved them. I did tweak slightly as I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I sub'd non-fat yogurt instead, 1 tbls of baking powder (as I agreed with others that 2 sounded a bit much) and added 1 cup of dried cranberries. Like others I didn't mess with cutting out but did a modified drop version by simply rolling into a ball & patting flat once on the cookie sheet. I've been making, and eating, scones for 20+ years now and this is a great recipe -- easy to remember & add your own special touches. With just one batch this one has moved to the front of my scone list. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is a great base recipe. So many possibilities. I just made my first batch with 3/4 cup raisins, 1/3 cup chopped walnuts and the zest and juice of 1 orange. The dough became a sticky blob. Whoops. So I added another 1/3 cup of flour to make it a dough again. Saved! I then rubbed the orange halves on the tops of the scones and sprinkled with sugar. They came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My best friend is a scone "snob" having grown up with an Irish grandmother who was straight off the boat and made scones that everyone loved. These scones, while not just like Grandma's, definitely met with the seal of approval. I thought they were good, but they tasted like buttermilk biscuits to me. I think that the next batch is going to get a spoonful of sugar to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I've made this twice, 1st time I added pecans, yum! My husband asked me to make them w/o butter, so I did the following: 1/4 cup more buttermilk, a little less than 1/3 cup Sunflower oil & I baked them for the full 15 minutes. Not as yummy w/o butter, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcessar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Yum! I admit I did change the recipe by adding 3T. sugar, 3/4 c. dried cranberries and 1T. orange zest. But, these are so easy. I just patted mine into a circle and cut into triangles with a pizza cutter. They turned out great, and they are lower in butter/fat than most scone recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Ingredients edited by the Allrecipes staff on 9/22/2008.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I enjoyed trying this recipe. I love scones so I had to try it out. They came out pretty good, but as someone pointed out there's too much baking powder. The scones came out more fluffy then I'm accustomed to. I'm going to try it with 2tsp of baking powder instead of 2tbs. I also added 1/2 c sugar, to sweeten the scone. It turned out wonderfully other then the cake like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These are great and so easy to make! For sweet scones just add 1/4 - 1/2 cup sugar depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States