Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I am a scone lover and I am not sure how this recipe got 4 stars. As the recipe is, this turns out extremely bland. I added 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup of blueberries, and a 1/4 cup of pecans. I also brushed with buttermilk and sprinkled with sugar. The scones were STILL bland!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The scones came out of the oven "just right" for my tastes; if you like a firmer scone, decrease the buttermilk to 1 cup. I baked mine on a pizza stone (no parchment paper or greasing needed!). I followed others' recommendations and did the following: added 1 tsp white sugar and changed the baking powder to 2 tsp. I also added 1/3 c dried cranberries and about 1/2 c white chocolate chips. The scones baked up so large that I'd recommend making the scones half the size (so, make at least 16 scones from this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Super easy and super yummy! Versatile and simple is my kind of recipe. THIS IS IT! I look like an expert baker when I pull these out of the oven. It takes less than 40 minutes to put these scones together and such a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
best scones i've made!! i added 1 tsp vanilla extract, splash of lemon juice, 1 tsp cinnamon and a handful of each craisins and chocolate chips. just before baking i brushed the tops with heavy cream and them dunked them in "sugar in the raw"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Light and fluffy, but quite bland, even with sugar and raisins. Do NOT use an insulated cookie sheet when baking, because the bottoms won't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These are a great base. I made two batches. One with lemon juice, dried cranberries and cinnamon and another with green onion, garlic salt and shredded cheese. I served the cranberry ones with marmalade. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is a great basic scone recipe, allowing you to modify as desired. They are not sweet, as others have mentioned, but could certainly be made sweet with some sugar or honey. I substituted half the flour with wheat flour and added some wheat germ for nutrition. I also added almonds and craisins. They turned out beautifully soft and airy. Next time I will probably add some sugar for sweetness, but am happy with how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Love it, but think it needs a bit of sugar. I add 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very light and fluffy. I used buttermilk powder (5tbs of powder and 1 1/4 c water) and I mixed it in the KitchenAid. Worked wonderfully. Next time, Im trying blueberries! Sooo good with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I am used to very plain scones so found this simple, easy to prepare recipe very satisfactory; and when served with the usual slather of lemon curd and clotted cream on top, well they were heavenly. A light and tender scone that is still sturdy enough to hold whatever you want to put onto them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States