Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I needed to get rid of all the buttermilk I had leftover from another recipe so I doubled everything but lessened the Baking Powder by 2 1.5 tbs and added 2/3 cup of sugar and currants. Yielded 16 very large scones. Will try adding cheddar cheese or herbs next time. Excellent basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Ellen Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is a great base for scones, although I read reviews and decided to reduce the baking soda to 2tsp. It was golden on the top and moist in the middle, more cakey less crumbly, bake time was 11 min on a pizza stone and they were delicious! I made two kinds of scones:1/2 cup white chocolate chips with 1/4 cup craisins; and 1/4 cup slivered almonds with 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Next time I try this recipe I will use huckleberries and lemon. A very simple and very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was ok but I am still searching for the perfect scones. They were really moist but dense. These are more like biscuits. I added 2 shredded apples, a few dashes of nutmeg, and 1 tsp cinnamon. They wouldn't brown on the tops so I put them on broil for the last few minutes. And I also added more sugar. The taste was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
2 TEASPOONS of baking powder (not TABLESPOONS)! I used 2 tsp and the scones rose nicely. You don't need all that sour taste. Other than that, a perfect base recipe that you can make sweet or savory. Will use many times again. My toddler loves these scones with some sugar, cranberries and 1 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I added a little sugar and blueberries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Added 1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup blueberries to dough. Drizzled with glaze after cooled. Got recipe from other site: Vanilla Glaze 2/3 cup powdered sugar 1 Tablespoon warm water 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved this recipe! It's a recipe you can do a lot with from plain to fancy! I will use this recipe in place of my regular biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a great starter recipe. I used it as a base and split the dough in half adding currants to one half and lemon rind, a bit of lemon juice and ginger to the other. I also dropped tablespoon sized balls of dough onto a parchment covered cookie sheet which is much easier than shaping the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
added much more cheese and a lot of herbs. Turned out denser than I wanted and was a bit bland so probably could have used more salt. Definitely more of a biscuit then scone but was pretty good toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States