Buttermilk Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is an out of this world recipe. This is the exact recipe that my great aunt made since the 40's. If you can taste the buttermilk in this, you have either done something wrong or you have problems with tasting. Everytime I make this I have people asking me for the recipe. This is a fool proof recipe if you follow the direction to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very Good. Nice change. Would have never guessed there was buttermilk in salad. Added 1 can of drained mandarin oranges. Makes a very large dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Good as a dessert or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Easy, makes a lot, very tasty. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This salad was okay but I could taste the buttermilk. My sister wouldn't eat it because she said it tasted sour. She doesn't like buttermilk. However my father said it was one of his favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Refreshing spring/summer taste addition to meal. Don't like buttermilk, but cannot taste it at all. Unfortunately I only had small 3 ounce box of sugar-free peach gelatin, so added 3 ounce box of lemon. Also used sugar free whipped topping. Even with these changes, it was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Great recipe. I used apricot jello (w/sugar)and lite cool whip. Next time I'm going to try sugar free jello and fat free cool whip.... what a great, low-cal salad to have in my refrigerator all summer. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Outstanding! Made this during Easter weekend, It's easy, colorful, and made a big hit with the family. Can't wait to try diffrent flavors of jello during the summer.Thanks Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
tried this tonight it was great. my hubby and kids loved it thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I liked the flavor, but it looks like....well, I won't name it, so it didn't go over well with my family. Guess I'll just have to eat the rest of it myself! If you don't happen to have buttermilk on hand, you can "make" buttermilk by adding one tablespoon of white vinegar to each cup of milk required----let it sit for a few minutes before adding to your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States