Buttermilk Ranch Cheeseball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is one of our favorite appetizers for holidays. I make my own dry ranch dressing mix and use a full pound of sharp cheddar cheese. You can use reduced fat cream cheese and not even notice the switch. If you really want the ranch flavor to shine, make this a couple days beforehand and let it set in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
rolled a second one in real bacon bits kids loved them both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was a huge hit at our latest family gathering. It was a little bit salty for my taste, but that didn't seem to slow anyone down. I like the idea of adding some bacon - will give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have been looking for an affordably priced cheeseball for the holidays and tried this. I made 1/2 recipe and I lined a small glass bowl with plastic wrap, spread the mixture in that, and it un-molded very easy in the 5 minutes. I then rolled that in the finely chopped pecans. I thought this wasn't seasoned much. The predominant flavor, as the store bought cheese balls, was the cheese. If for a party, I would at least add some garlic seasoning. I would also experiment with adding pimentos, or some other flavoring or color, depending on the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Be sure to use the powder DRESSING rather than the powder DIP. The dip has way more salt in it. We have made both kinds. Dip cheese all is way too salty. Just a heads up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is quick and simple to throw together and uses ingredients I generally have on hand. I made this to take to a family gathering and it was very tasty. I found that I actually liked this better after the flavors had a chance to meld together and the cheeseball warmed up a bit. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Used FF cream cheese and it still tasted great...and SOOO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious! Had this at a party and made it the next day at home.....some health modifications: I used fat free sour cream, reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, low fat cream cheese. Definitely use ranch DRESSING not DIP mix. I also added ~ 1/2 C tofu and decreased cream cheese by ~ 1/4 C. Couldn't taste the tofu in the mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Super easy and everyone loved it. It was gone in no time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Love this recipe!!! It is super easy to make, its creamy, delicious, and it's something that everyone in my family will eat. Oh and for a little extra crunch I added bacon bits on the inside mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States