Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Formerly a professional baker, now retired, I can't resist "fooling around" with a great basic recipe, of which this one is GREAT! However, I changed the flavorings by using the juice AND zest of one large lemon, (No lemon extract- use the real thing!), two tsps. of pure vanilla extract, and, here's the real change, one and a half tsps. of ground cardamom. When the cake is still warm, remove from tube pan, and drizzle with a glaze:mix one cup powdered confectioner's sugar, with enough fresh lemon juice to be runny, ( a consistency like Elmer's glue ). These changes take Cathy's wonderful cake and transform it into a GREAT CAKE! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
756 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
My family and I aren't crazy about extremely sweet desserts, and this pound cake is just right for our taste. Not overly sweet, tangy, very moist, and great by itself! I've made this several times now, and anytime I mention making it, I get the thumbs up from the family. Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Very good, and moist. I bake cakes for a lady that has a catering business, and I made her 5 loaves last week, and she wants 2 more tomorrow!! This is the best recipe I have tried for pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Delicious. I made a frosting to go with it: 4 tblspn butter, 1/2 cup sour cream, 2 cups confectioners sugar, 1/4 tspn salt, 1/2 tspn vanilla extract, 1/2 tspn lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I was so tickled when I pulled this out of the oven and saw how beautiful it had turned out...considering the 2 adjustments I made. I substituted brown sugar for the white and left out the lemon flavoring since I didn't have any. My bundt pan is pretty old and I'm not even sure how many inches in diameter it is. So, being on the safe side, I baked mine in a 9x13 inch pan. It turned out perfectly and was completely cooked in about 50 minutes. The sides of the cake started pulling away from the pan, and so I knew it was done. Even though the recipe calls for 3 cups of sugar...this cake was NOT overly sweet. The brown sugar complemented the buttermilk flavor very well. I will keep this one in my recipe box!! Thanks a million Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I have been looking for the recipe that my mom made for years and had not been able to find the right one until this one. It was excellent. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I always test my Allrecipes recipes on my co-workers because they are so honest and this was a hit! It was really moist and had a really good flavor. Like some of the other reviewers I thought the sugar was going to make the cake too sweet but it was not nearly as sweet as I thought it would be. My husband loved it as did the picky 21 month old! Will definately make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Awsome!! Out of this world!! I am in love!! Easy to make and taste great. A hudge hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I just tried this recipe last night and it was AWWWEEESOME! I am not much of a cook, but I love to attempt at baking around the holidays. This cake turned out very moist and soft. I am so thankful that my family can finally eat something I baked!! I must add that I did not need to bake it for as long as the recipe called for. I baked it around 1 hour and 10 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I loved this recipe! I added extra vanilla as other's suggested. It turned out beautifully in taste and appearance. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States