Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So I make my world famous banana cake and I have quite a bit of buttermilk leftover. I do a simple search on this site and came across this recipe. I never looked at the ratings and decided I am making it. I did not have a tube pan so I used a bundt cake pan instead. It did not make any difference. It came out very well and I did not tweak anything. I made some cream cheese icing and added lemon extract and just a little lemon peel to drizzle over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I liked it, the only change I made was adding 2 cups of sugar instead of 3, and still felt it too sweet, but very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a delicious, moist poundcake with great texture. It tastes like an old fashion pound cake, which is just the way I like cake to taste. I only had self-rising flour on hand but I used it anway. I still added the baking soda. I don't see that it made a difference. The next time I make it I will use all purpose flour. I will also try it with cake flour to see what the difference in texture will be. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great...enjoyoed it and placed a lemony icing on it and placed it on a bundt pan...nice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Enos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rose1
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Made this cake with a few modifications suggested by others well it goes a little like this the cake turned out beautifully as you can see from the photo. Have tried other recipes for pound cakes with very little success mostly they were too heavy or did not bake well. This one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made this wonderful cake for the family over the weekend and it was great. I did not change anything nor would I even think to do so. Everything about this was perfect. Thank you so much Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is best pound cake, it came out golden brown baked check after 60 min was perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I used a spring pan and cake came out too dense. Next time I will try tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Barry
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This recipe turned out beautifully. I baked it in a silicon tube pan for 1 hr 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
5-Star all the way. Light lemon flavor/scent from the extract. Made a lemon juice/powdered sugar glaze for the top. Ours took just about the whole 90 minutes to start pulling away from the pan sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States