Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Loved it great for strawberries or lemon icing would be good ...delicious ..just eat plain ! Will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecookandbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for a birthday party, but as a bread. after it was baked, I mixed powdered sugar and lemon juice together and drizzled it on top. Everyone seemed to really like it. I will totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I was looking for a Buttermilk pound cake recipe that tasted like my Grandmother's and this is it! I followed the recipe with the exception of I sifted my flour. Next time I will grease my pan and then dust with flour my Pampered Chef Bundt pan is not fully seasoned and made me nervous coming out. Other than that recipe is perfect I just dusted with powdered sugar instead of icing. It is a keeper thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a tried and true recipe. I dabble with additional ingredients; including using sour cream or yogurt instead of buttermilk. I've also swapped vanilla extract for my homemade mint extract and added food coloring for a creme de menth pound cake. What can I say, you can't go wrong with the amounts of dry versus wet and playing around with the flavorings. I should have posted a revue long before this because it is a keeper and a staple in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIZBECK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this cake yesterday to try out my new KitchenAid mixer. It was a good cake but will have to say not as good as my old standby pound cake that I've made for many years. A little heavy for me but made up into a beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
One of the best pound cakes I've had in a long time. The hint of lemon really made the recipe stand out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl Cabral
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I baked this cake today and I was apprehensive about the cooking time. I felt that 90 minutes was excessive. I decided to cook for 45 minutes. I actually wished I had taken it out about 40 minutes. I used my Nordic Anniversary Bundt pan. I believe that a 9-inch tube pan is wrong for this recipe. My pan holds 15 to 16 cups. I haven't tasted it yet but I did post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cabral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Definitely 5 stars! This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Greenlawn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This cake is fabulous! I had leftover buttermilk I wanted to use up so I selected this recipe, and I am so glad I did! It was delicious and easy to make. This is the closest I have ever come to my mother's pound cake and she wss a wonderful cook, so that is saying a lot for this recipe! I will make this cake again and again. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So I make my world famous banana cake and I have quite a bit of buttermilk leftover. I do a simple search on this site and came across this recipe. I never looked at the ratings and decided I am making it. I did not have a tube pan so I used a bundt cake pan instead. It did not make any difference. It came out very well and I did not tweak anything. I made some cream cheese icing and added lemon extract and just a little lemon peel to drizzle over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States