Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Do not bake this 90 minutes or it will be overdone and dry, I took it out 13 minutes early and it was overdone......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is great pound cake! I served it with sliced strawberries and cool whip and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This turn out pretty good! I wish I would have read reviews first! I would have used real lemon, and zest. I also would have likely added 1/4 cup of sour cream since it was a little dry. That will turn out ok I think because I'll use it to make French toast for breakfast out of it. I poured some rhubarb syrup on it I made yesterday, so it was great still warm fresh out of the oven! I followed the instructions except I only used 2 1/2 cups of sugar, otherwise it was made as shown! I'll make it again with the few changes I listed. I know the zest will add a lot, and the sour cream should keep it moist enough! Still good cake, and the buttermilk added a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Not sure what happened. Mine turned out very dense. Yes, I know pound cakes are supposed to be dense, but this wasn't very tender at all, and I even substituted cake flour for half the flour, which should have yielded a more tender crumb. The flavor is good, though, but I would have preferred something that rose a little more. If I do try this again, I may follow another favorite recipe and reduce the oven temp to 300 degrees. I'll keep looking, and/or experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Tried it as written and it is a five star recipe! Now, I tried it again with only 2 cups of sugar and real lemon juice and zest. It was even better! I also put a lemon juice and confectioners sugar glaze on top... to die for. Really excellent. I did not have any problems with the cake being dry. It tastes just like my mother's poundcake from when I was a little girl. Dense and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I baked my first homemade cake today using this wonderful recipe. My cake turned out beautifully. It is moist and tastes delicious! I am so proud! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latosha Burch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
One of the best pound cake i've ever tasted. I followed the reviews, added an extra 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup of tenderflake shortening, 1/2 cup of sour cream and i didnt have lemon extract so i replaced it with real lemon juice, and added an extra tsp of vanilla. Really good, next time i'll add lemon rind too. The sad thing is, obviously, this recipe is really fattening! I will make this on extra special occasions ONLY that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! Awesomely delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very delicious ,real light, didn't know how much it would rise so I baked in two pans. I will certainly use this recipe again. I also like a heavier cake as well. If anyone has a great recipe,please share. Wanted to share picture taken from IPad, says it's to small pixels....... Gail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a very tasty cake! It has a coarser crumb more akin to a very rich coffee cake with pound cake yumminess. Its a good cake, more akin to a rich buttermilk cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States