Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Nice pound cake, nice and dense. Awesome flavor of the lemon. I made no changes to this cake except to use low fat buttermilk. It was great served with Simple Orange Glaze from this site drizzled on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
more like just buttermilk cake. still good, but it was more like a thick coffee cake...Much better as mini cupcakes...I eve froze half the batter, it was great 6 weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I used half brown sugar, as others suggested, and followed the rest exactly. Unfortunately, mine came out a bit dry and stuck to the pan quite a bit. It was really hard to get it out. I made a lemon glaze with lemon juice, water and sugar heated together, and poured over the warm cake, after I poked holes into it to make it more moist. Still was dry! Some loved it, and others thought it was just okay. I would have given it 3 stars, but because I changed the brown sugar a bit, I thought I'd give it 4 to be fair, as I am supposed to rate the recipe posted, and not my modifications. :) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
delicious! this made enough for me to make a bundt and a round pound cake. I think 90 min is about 15 min too long for cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I lost my sister's recipe and I tried this pound cake recipe. It fell...even tho I followed the recipe. This was a first for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I didn't care for the taste of this pound cake at all. I followed directions and added 1/2 c. sour cream as suggested. The crumb was wonderful. It tasted better the 2nd day but I still did not like it. I prefer the taste of evaporated milk I guess in my pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I followed some other reviewers suggestions and doubled the vanilla and added 1/2 cup of sour cream. It was moist with a wonderful flavor and a flaky crust. Perfect pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Other than subbing an extra tsp. of Vanilla for the Lemon, I followed the directions exactly. Not only did the cake completely stick to the inside of my pan and fall apart when I tried to get it out, what came out had absolutely no taste at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was an easy recipe to follow. Although, the cake looked lovely but crust came out too hard :(. I saw another review that this could have been due to the long cook time..So I'll try again and reduce cook time to an hour..But overall I enjoyed baking this cake...Practice makes Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States