Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
My bad, but I should have covered the last 30 minutes, my oven tends to cook hot.. and using an old dinged pan wasn't a great idea either! The texture and flavor are terrific though! I used almond extract and vanilla. I also added 1/2 cup sour cream when I was beating in the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Buttery deliciousness! Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I loved this cake i changed a lil by adding lemon juice to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
delicious! i halved it and did have to cook it to 90min at 325 as suggested in the original recipe. made it 2x and it's beautiful and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Nice pound cake, nice and dense. Awesome flavor of the lemon. I made no changes to this cake except to use low fat buttermilk. It was great served with Simple Orange Glaze from this site drizzled on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
more like just buttermilk cake. still good, but it was more like a thick coffee cake...Much better as mini cupcakes...I eve froze half the batter, it was great 6 weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I used half brown sugar, as others suggested, and followed the rest exactly. Unfortunately, mine came out a bit dry and stuck to the pan quite a bit. It was really hard to get it out. I made a lemon glaze with lemon juice, water and sugar heated together, and poured over the warm cake, after I poked holes into it to make it more moist. Still was dry! Some loved it, and others thought it was just okay. I would have given it 3 stars, but because I changed the brown sugar a bit, I thought I'd give it 4 to be fair, as I am supposed to rate the recipe posted, and not my modifications. :) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
delicious! this made enough for me to make a bundt and a round pound cake. I think 90 min is about 15 min too long for cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I lost my sister's recipe and I tried this pound cake recipe. It fell...even tho I followed the recipe. This was a first for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I didn't care for the taste of this pound cake at all. I followed directions and added 1/2 c. sour cream as suggested. The crumb was wonderful. It tasted better the 2nd day but I still did not like it. I prefer the taste of evaporated milk I guess in my pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States