Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very potential, my family and I liked it. Not sure if I let it stay in the oven too long. I should have only probably did 45min instead of an hour. But very tasty, love the flavor. A little dry to me, so once again it could have been me. I'm not a pro baker or cooker...lol learning in progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made this cake twice now and every time I have made it, it falls. I put it in a pre heated oven and did not open the door and an hour later it has fallen. I love the flavor but is there something I am doing wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have many pound cake recipes, some from southern family members who were known for their pound cakes, and my family loves them. I am considered a very experienced baker. I followed this recipe as written,with the only exception being that I added lemon and orange zest along with the flavorings. The little extra citrus just adds a fresh clean taste to cakes of this type. I also agree that a key to many good bake goods is to beat the butter and sugar for, at least, five minutes until it looks yellow and creamy. It only took 65 minutes in my oven when baked in a bundt pan and I didn't check it until 1 hour had passed. Keep in mind that ovens do vary and cooking times may not always be exact. I topped mine with a 10x sugar glaze using gran mariner. Just drizzled lightly over warm cake. Also good with lemon glaze, using real lemon juice and zest, or orange zest and juice. This slight tartness might counteract some of the sweetness others don't prefer. We thought this cake was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammy of 3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nottingham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Like a lot of other folks, I adjusted the recipe to suit my taste. I usually think there is too much sugar used, decreased to 2 cups. Used the zest and juice of one large lemon, and added half cup sour cream. Got good reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I weighed all the ingredients, followed the recipe exactly and did not over bake but this cake turned out incredibly dry. This recipe is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This cake does taste good but definitely needs extra vanilla and/or lemon extract and less sugar than called for. Definitely needs to be eaten at room temp. And don't over whip the eggs and butter and be gentle with mixing in the flour. I don't think I'll make again but if I do I'll definitely add extra buttermilk as per other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
swapped out 1 cup of the sugar with Splenda and it still turned out pretty good. Also added grated peel of a small lemon for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Excellent in every way. Easy to follow instructions properly indicate how to put this cake together. It's moist and flavourful on it's own or would make a great base for many other desserts. Easy to customize this cake to your own liking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedApple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Loved it great for strawberries or lemon icing would be good ...delicious ..just eat plain ! Will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecookandbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for a birthday party, but as a bread. after it was baked, I mixed powdered sugar and lemon juice together and drizzled it on top. Everyone seemed to really like it. I will totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States