Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cake is delicious-moist and dense!Made my own buttermilk and separated my eggs making sure to beat the egg whites stiff and adding to the batter last by folding in. I also creamed butter and sugar together before adding other directions from the recipe. This recipe is Husband and toddler approved and they are a tough crowd! Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheneka Sheneka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Wonderful pound cake. I didn't have any lemon flavoring so I used 2 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp almond flavoring. I also added 8 oz. sour cream. It was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good & moist cake. Not as dense as previous pond cakes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I just made this cake for a friend of mine for her Thanksgiving dinner. Can I say that my kitchen had this wonderful smell and the cake turned out beautifully. The ONLY change I made was to substitute almond for the vanilla. It's safe to say I will definitely be making this for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maureen Jackson-Barnes
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
The only recipe I use!! Everyone absolutely love them, they k love them so much, sometimes I get tired of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My lady friend loved this recipe. However, I added a name (Apple Cinnamon Crush Cake) some cinnamon and 3 cored/sliced apples. Instead of cooking it for 1 1/2 hours, It cooked for 1 hour. Its still turned out great thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Getta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was very heavy and extremely sweet. Definitely reduce the sugar and a bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Ang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
EXCELLENT, my first cake ever and was a success ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I love the moist texture. I used the juice of one lemon, since I didn't have lemon extract. I'm glad that I heeded the advice of other reviewers and checked for doneness at 60 minutes; my cake was done after 70 minutes. However, it was a bit too sweet for my liking. I will make this again, but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe last night, and overall, the cake was super moist and flavorful. The only thing I would tweak is the amount of sugar the recipe called for; it was a tad too sweet for my palate. Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States