Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe. I used limoncello instead of lemon juice and 2 1/2 cups of sugar. It is wonderful and held up beautifully. I also shifted my flour twice before adding, as I find this makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellenevans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I LOVE this pound cake! I've made it twice (both times without lemon extract sadly, and I know the cake would have benefited from it) and my only real complaint is that it is a little on the dry/crumbly side. However, it made a perfect base for other things--the first time I made strawberry shortcake with homemade strawberry sauce, and the second time I made faux "grilled cheese sandwiches" with orangesicle frosting, and it worked perfectly as a base for both items. I halved the recipe both times and made it in a 9x5 loaf pan, and it takes about 1 hour 15 minutes at 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I cut back on the sugar and found it not being as sweet as I prefer. I will go what the author stated initially.. I did increase the vanilla flavoring as I love vanilla. Also, I baked it only 1Hr10 minutes. That was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ernestine Cooper
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I've made this delious pound cake 3 times and I never have anything left to toss out like other box cakes. Same great taste each time. Only difference is I had to decrease my baking time in order to keep from drying it out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernestine Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Lee
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is one of my favorite pound cake recipes. It has a very tender crumb and is easy to pull together. I have used several different glazes on this and it's also the base for my Punchbowl Cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is fantastic and light. However I added a lemon glaze that gives another layer of flavor and of course another layer of calories. 1 cup powdered sugar 3 tablespoons lemon juice 2 tablespoons milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Like another reviewer, I changed the quantity to 6 to split this recipe in half. I then made it in a 9 x 5.5 glass loaf pan. After 50 minutes at 325, the center wasn't done but it was nicely browned. I covered it with foil and baked it another 10 minutes, for a total of 1 hour. It is delicious with a nice crust. I only used vanilla and it has a wonderful flavor. We love it and will use it for strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummytampa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is superb! Crispy outside, fine crumb, very moist. I used two loaf panes lined with parchment. Baking time was the full 90 mins. For a lemon version, replace the buttermilk with milk and lemon combined to equal one cup. I used 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup lemon thinking I would add more lemon taste with a glaze. Next time I'll try 2/3 cup milk and 1/3 cup lemon because the cake is too yummy for extras like glaze or frosting. Really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is between 3-4 stars. I followed the ingredients as listed, but the batter is very very runny, so I had to add another 1/4 cup of flour. I also cut down the sugar to 2 1/4 cups, still on the the sweet side. The cake is too "poundy". The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States