Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
this was an easy recipe and turned out wonderful. i love the addition of buttermilk ...makes it tangy and moist. very good recipe!!! def a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is a great cake. I made a couple of adjustments. I used 1/4 th of a tsp of baking powder, instead of baking soda, and I used whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I think this recipe is not terrible, but was way too sweet. If I make this cake next time, I will definitely make it with A LOT LESS SUGAR. I reduced the recipe as I did not want to make a big bundt cake. I still thought that 2 cups of sugar was too much for 2 cups of flour. At the moment, I checked the mix and it seemed right,but by the time I tried the cake, I was right with my guess! I will also add more lemon flavor from juice and zest as this cake is very similar to another recipe from this site called Yummy Lemon Coconut Loaf. I noticed also that my cake stuck to the loaf pan a bit,but I quickly figured out that this was due to adding too much sugar to the mix. I want to think that probably reducing the recipe had to do with the extremely sweet outcome therefore my OK rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made this cake yesterday, but had to make minor changes. I added two teaspoons of vanilla extract instead of one and one half cup of sour cream to give the cake more moisture. The cake came out Great. I will make this cake again. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe. I used limoncello instead of lemon juice and 2 1/2 cups of sugar. It is wonderful and held up beautifully. I also shifted my flour twice before adding, as I find this makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellenevans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I LOVE this pound cake! I've made it twice (both times without lemon extract sadly, and I know the cake would have benefited from it) and my only real complaint is that it is a little on the dry/crumbly side. However, it made a perfect base for other things--the first time I made strawberry shortcake with homemade strawberry sauce, and the second time I made faux "grilled cheese sandwiches" with orangesicle frosting, and it worked perfectly as a base for both items. I halved the recipe both times and made it in a 9x5 loaf pan, and it takes about 1 hour 15 minutes at 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I cut back on the sugar and found it not being as sweet as I prefer. I will go what the author stated initially.. I did increase the vanilla flavoring as I love vanilla. Also, I baked it only 1Hr10 minutes. That was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ernestine Cooper
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I've made this delious pound cake 3 times and I never have anything left to toss out like other box cakes. Same great taste each time. Only difference is I had to decrease my baking time in order to keep from drying it out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernestine Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Lee
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is one of my favorite pound cake recipes. It has a very tender crumb and is easy to pull together. I have used several different glazes on this and it's also the base for my Punchbowl Cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States