Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is between 3-4 stars. I followed the ingredients as listed, but the batter is very very runny, so I had to add another 1/4 cup of flour. I also cut down the sugar to 2 1/4 cups, still on the the sweet side. The cake is too "poundy". The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this cake true to the recipe. I never looked at the cake after 90 minutes of baking because it says "do not open the oven door until after one hour". This cake was dry and crusty. Now, maybe it's because I have a high end 36" gas range? I did not use the convection feature. It was so adhered to my Teflon coated, well oiled and floured bundt pan I practically had to chisel it out. If I make another one I will take it out immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Mueller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catpow
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is an easy pound cake to make, very moist and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catpow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Simply delicious!!! I made sure it cooked without disruption for an hour. Eyeballed it to see if it was coming away from the sides. Checked it with the cake tester and took it out to cool. Oh boy!!! While it cooled I could smell the goodness. I will absolutely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cake is delicious-moist and dense!Made my own buttermilk and separated my eggs making sure to beat the egg whites stiff and adding to the batter last by folding in. I also creamed butter and sugar together before adding other directions from the recipe. This recipe is Husband and toddler approved and they are a tough crowd! Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheneka Sheneka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Wonderful pound cake. I didn't have any lemon flavoring so I used 2 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp almond flavoring. I also added 8 oz. sour cream. It was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good & moist cake. Not as dense as previous pond cakes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I just made this cake for a friend of mine for her Thanksgiving dinner. Can I say that my kitchen had this wonderful smell and the cake turned out beautifully. The ONLY change I made was to substitute almond for the vanilla. It's safe to say I will definitely be making this for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maureen Jackson-Barnes
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
The only recipe I use!! Everyone absolutely love them, they k love them so much, sometimes I get tired of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My lady friend loved this recipe. However, I added a name (Apple Cinnamon Crush Cake) some cinnamon and 3 cored/sliced apples. Instead of cooking it for 1 1/2 hours, It cooked for 1 hour. Its still turned out great thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Getta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States