Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Darlenda Anderson
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
No changes but will try this cake again! One of the sides came apart from cake as it was being turned out of pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
When I first made this, I was a bit reluctant about how it would turn out, but it happens to be one of most delicious things I've ever tasted! I agree with other people about the sweetness, but this doesn't lower my rating. It also lasts awhile if you freeze it. I also love this pound cake because you can garnish it with whatever you feel like. Strawberries, ice cream, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
this was an easy recipe and turned out wonderful. i love the addition of buttermilk ...makes it tangy and moist. very good recipe!!! def a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This is a great cake. I made a couple of adjustments. I used 1/4 th of a tsp of baking powder, instead of baking soda, and I used whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I think this recipe is not terrible, but was way too sweet. If I make this cake next time, I will definitely make it with A LOT LESS SUGAR. I reduced the recipe as I did not want to make a big bundt cake. I still thought that 2 cups of sugar was too much for 2 cups of flour. At the moment, I checked the mix and it seemed right,but by the time I tried the cake, I was right with my guess! I will also add more lemon flavor from juice and zest as this cake is very similar to another recipe from this site called Yummy Lemon Coconut Loaf. I noticed also that my cake stuck to the loaf pan a bit,but I quickly figured out that this was due to adding too much sugar to the mix. I want to think that probably reducing the recipe had to do with the extremely sweet outcome therefore my OK rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made this cake yesterday, but had to make minor changes. I added two teaspoons of vanilla extract instead of one and one half cup of sour cream to give the cake more moisture. The cake came out Great. I will make this cake again. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe. I used limoncello instead of lemon juice and 2 1/2 cups of sugar. It is wonderful and held up beautifully. I also shifted my flour twice before adding, as I find this makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellenevans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I LOVE this pound cake! I've made it twice (both times without lemon extract sadly, and I know the cake would have benefited from it) and my only real complaint is that it is a little on the dry/crumbly side. However, it made a perfect base for other things--the first time I made strawberry shortcake with homemade strawberry sauce, and the second time I made faux "grilled cheese sandwiches" with orangesicle frosting, and it worked perfectly as a base for both items. I halved the recipe both times and made it in a 9x5 loaf pan, and it takes about 1 hour 15 minutes at 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I cut back on the sugar and found it not being as sweet as I prefer. I will go what the author stated initially.. I did increase the vanilla flavoring as I love vanilla. Also, I baked it only 1Hr10 minutes. That was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States