Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I bet the butter and sugar little longer with each egg I didn't have butter milk I just use milk it came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanavia Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beths
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Nice dense pound cake. I followed exactly and it has nice flavor. I baked in the tube pan recommended and it only took 1 hour and fifteen minutes. Watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beths

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made this recipe last night and it was FANTASTIC!!! I had some left over buttermilk and came across this recipe...and I'm so happy I tried it! Its moist....sweet...goodness. I will probably pair it up with some lemon glaze (Giadas lemon glaze for her lemon cookies). I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Great pound cake! I added a little almond flavoring and 2 tbs. Crisco shortening. This cake was very moist and light. I used cake flour instead of all-purpose. For each cup of cake flour, I added 2additional tablespoons of cake flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Even my picky husband who does not like cakes because they are too sweet loved this recipe. I did add 1/2cup sour cream to make it moist. I could not keep these for long they were addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe without making any changes! It is perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Do not bake this 90 minutes or it will be overdone and dry, I took it out 13 minutes early and it was overdone......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is great pound cake! I served it with sliced strawberries and cool whip and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This turn out pretty good! I wish I would have read reviews first! I would have used real lemon, and zest. I also would have likely added 1/4 cup of sour cream since it was a little dry. That will turn out ok I think because I'll use it to make French toast for breakfast out of it. I poured some rhubarb syrup on it I made yesterday, so it was great still warm fresh out of the oven! I followed the instructions except I only used 2 1/2 cups of sugar, otherwise it was made as shown! I'll make it again with the few changes I listed. I know the zest will add a lot, and the sour cream should keep it moist enough! Still good cake, and the buttermilk added a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Not sure what happened. Mine turned out very dense. Yes, I know pound cakes are supposed to be dense, but this wasn't very tender at all, and I even substituted cake flour for half the flour, which should have yielded a more tender crumb. The flavor is good, though, but I would have preferred something that rose a little more. If I do try this again, I may follow another favorite recipe and reduce the oven temp to 300 degrees. I'll keep looking, and/or experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States