Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ernestine Cooper
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I've made this delious pound cake 3 times and I never have anything left to toss out like other box cakes. Same great taste each time. Only difference is I had to decrease my baking time in order to keep from drying it out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernestine Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Lee
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is one of my favorite pound cake recipes. It has a very tender crumb and is easy to pull together. I have used several different glazes on this and it's also the base for my Punchbowl Cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is fantastic and light. However I added a lemon glaze that gives another layer of flavor and of course another layer of calories. 1 cup powdered sugar 3 tablespoons lemon juice 2 tablespoons milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Like another reviewer, I changed the quantity to 6 to split this recipe in half. I then made it in a 9 x 5.5 glass loaf pan. After 50 minutes at 325, the center wasn't done but it was nicely browned. I covered it with foil and baked it another 10 minutes, for a total of 1 hour. It is delicious with a nice crust. I only used vanilla and it has a wonderful flavor. We love it and will use it for strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummytampa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is superb! Crispy outside, fine crumb, very moist. I used two loaf panes lined with parchment. Baking time was the full 90 mins. For a lemon version, replace the buttermilk with milk and lemon combined to equal one cup. I used 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup lemon thinking I would add more lemon taste with a glaze. Next time I'll try 2/3 cup milk and 1/3 cup lemon because the cake is too yummy for extras like glaze or frosting. Really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is between 3-4 stars. I followed the ingredients as listed, but the batter is very very runny, so I had to add another 1/4 cup of flour. I also cut down the sugar to 2 1/4 cups, still on the the sweet side. The cake is too "poundy". The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this cake true to the recipe. I never looked at the cake after 90 minutes of baking because it says "do not open the oven door until after one hour". This cake was dry and crusty. Now, maybe it's because I have a high end 36" gas range? I did not use the convection feature. It was so adhered to my Teflon coated, well oiled and floured bundt pan I practically had to chisel it out. If I make another one I will take it out immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Mueller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catpow
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is an easy pound cake to make, very moist and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catpow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Simply delicious!!! I made sure it cooked without disruption for an hour. Eyeballed it to see if it was coming away from the sides. Checked it with the cake tester and took it out to cool. Oh boy!!! While it cooled I could smell the goodness. I will absolutely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cake is delicious-moist and dense!Made my own buttermilk and separated my eggs making sure to beat the egg whites stiff and adding to the batter last by folding in. I also creamed butter and sugar together before adding other directions from the recipe. This recipe is Husband and toddler approved and they are a tough crowd! Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheneka Sheneka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States