Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Formerly a professional baker, now retired, I can't resist "fooling around" with a great basic recipe, of which this one is GREAT! However, I changed the flavorings by using the juice AND zest of one large lemon, (No lemon extract- use the real thing!), two tsps. of pure vanilla extract, and, here's the real change, one and a half tsps. of ground cardamom. When the cake is still warm, remove from tube pan, and drizzle with a glaze:mix one cup powdered confectioner's sugar, with enough fresh lemon juice to be runny, ( a consistency like Elmer's glue ). These changes take Cathy's wonderful cake and transform it into a GREAT CAKE! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
795 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I thought this recipe was quite good. When making it the second time, I changed a few things. I added 1 stick of butter and 1/4 cup shortening. I also creamed the fats and sugar together for about 5 minutes. I used fresh lemon juice and lemon zest(1 large lemon. After reading the other reviews, noting that it may be a little dry, I added 1/2 cup sour cream. It turned out awesome!!! I will make it this way for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seyi621

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Definitely an awesome cake. I tried this recipe yesterday, and it was DELICIOUS! I baked two cakes, one using a loaf pan and another one using a BUNDT pan. After reading some reviews, for one of them, I tried sprinkling some icing sugar on the pan after oiling it, and it did add a little caramelish-crunchy side to the cake that I liked. My bf prefers cake to be plain, so he prefered the other one (without sugar sprinkled). I also added two tsp of vanilla extract instead of one and I used real lemon juice:) And finally, I baked it for around 70 mins too, and it was perfect: the crust was a nice shade, and it was yummy! Am glad I tried this recipe:)) =UPDATE= I tried this recipe around 5-6 times already (all with great success!!)and I noticed a definite change in taste if I beat the butter and the sugar with an electric mixer and if I just mix the butter and sugar MANUALLY. When I beat it with a mixer, it tastes great but it is definitely BETTER if you beat the butter and the sugar with with a wooden spoon. It has a richer taste. Just make sure to beat it well (until the mixture is uniform). Since it's done manually, the sugar will not be creamed with the butter, but don't worry about it coz when it's cooked, there is no grainy texture or anything. Ah, and it tastes AWESOME with almond essence instead of vanilla:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was INCREDIBLE. The only change I made was to halve the recipe and bake in a loaf pan for 50 minutes instead of a bundt cake pan for an hour. The BEST pound cake recipe I've ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiyamac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Classic, reliable pound cake recipe with basic ingredients and standard measurements...3 c. flour, 3 c. sugar, 6 eggs, 1 c. butter. And the reason why the ingredients and the fairly standard measurements of them are so classic and traditional (note other, similiar recipes) is because it WORKS. This is one, fine pound cake. Moist with a delicate and tender crumb. Exceptional, actually. I made half a recipe and used 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of Creme Bouquet flavoring. I also added about a cup of fresh blueberries and baked about 30 minutes in a mini rose Bundt cake pan. I drizzled it with a glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice. Absolutely first rate and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I was so tickled when I pulled this out of the oven and saw how beautiful it had turned out...considering the 2 adjustments I made. I substituted brown sugar for the white and left out the lemon flavoring since I didn't have any. My bundt pan is pretty old and I'm not even sure how many inches in diameter it is. So, being on the safe side, I baked mine in a 9x13 inch pan. It turned out perfectly and was completely cooked in about 50 minutes. The sides of the cake started pulling away from the pan, and so I knew it was done. Even though the recipe calls for 3 cups of sugar...this cake was NOT overly sweet. The brown sugar complemented the buttermilk flavor very well. I will keep this one in my recipe box!! Thanks a million Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe was very good. Some people said that the original recipe was dry so I added 2oz cream cheese. I also added lemon zest, which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Very good, and moist. I bake cakes for a lady that has a catering business, and I made her 5 loaves last week, and she wants 2 more tomorrow!! This is the best recipe I have tried for pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This cake tasted very good! I have a paula deen pound cake recipe I've used for years and this recipe is just as good (and less steps). I halved the recipe and was going to use a regular loaf pan but realized there was not enough batter to bring it up high enough in the pan even after baking. Instead I used my old standby's, 2 mini loaf pans which worked fine for all the batter to fit. I baked for 55 minutes total. Let cool, then served with sue's hot fudge sauce recipe from this site. Together they were GREAT! With a scoop of french vanilla ice cream and it would be a WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was simple to make and so yummy.If you want a denser cake omit one of the egg whites from the 6 eggs.I left out the lemon extract and added more vanilla!!! Yummo! I wish I could give it 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany

Displaying results 1-10 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States