Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This pound cakeis probably one of the best cakes iv made!! it was moist without being overly dense easy to throw together i will use this reipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
perfect texture but too much sugar. Next time I will probably use half the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mx5gurl
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
perfect basic pound cake easy when you follow instructions, would make a really good Jelly Roll! i did in small personal tube pans and 30 min it was done. as far as the dry comments I do not think they beat after each egg this turned out perfect just follow the easy instructions its a no fail! Great recipe i will experiment with on my daughters birthday... grape or strawberry jelly maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used this recipe as written except for adding the zest of 1 orange and using all orange extract. It came out perfect and I want to thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This Recipe is FANTASTIC AND DELICIOUS, I did not change anything and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Excellent! I did a half batch in a loaf pan. Very tender, nice crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I always reduce sugar when baking as I find that to my taste, 99% of recipes yield overly sweet results. I only had to decrease sugar by 1/2C this time. I added 1 lemon zest to enhance the flavour and added more than 1 tsp of lemon juice (I just added juice of 1 lemon). It turned out really great! I already made this several times and my favourite way to bake this is in mini loaf pans. I can get 12 mini loaves out of this recipe and baked it for approx 55 to 58 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have used this recipe for years...it is literally gold. Hey, when something has 6 eggs, 3 cups of sugar, and 2 1/2 sticks of butter, it has to be good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I was under the impression this was just a pound cake, but it turns out it's a LEMON pound cake. That should be the name of it, because it taste like a lemon pound cake and it calls for lemon extract. But it was still very good, but really was looking forward to just a plain butter pound cake. Which I thought it was. But thanks anyway... Next time I'll omit the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbooth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I doubled the recipe and made 5 mini-loaves. Cooked in 60 minutes, and they all came out looking beautiful and smelling great. The texture wasn't to my liking though - extremely dense, very eggy, and a bit too rich for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeruleanMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States