Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have used this recipe for years...it is literally gold. Hey, when something has 6 eggs, 3 cups of sugar, and 2 1/2 sticks of butter, it has to be good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I was under the impression this was just a pound cake, but it turns out it's a LEMON pound cake. That should be the name of it, because it taste like a lemon pound cake and it calls for lemon extract. But it was still very good, but really was looking forward to just a plain butter pound cake. Which I thought it was. But thanks anyway... Next time I'll omit the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbooth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I doubled the recipe and made 5 mini-loaves. Cooked in 60 minutes, and they all came out looking beautiful and smelling great. The texture wasn't to my liking though - extremely dense, very eggy, and a bit too rich for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeruleanMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I messed up and baked it in a two piece 10" tube pan. The batter began leaking out onto the oven floor. I had to open the door after about 15 minutes and insert a baking sheet underneath. I do not know if this affected the cake or not. It was done in 60 minutes, the first time I tested it. I think it could have used less time. It still filled the pan even with the leaking. As per another reviewer, I added the juice of 1 large lemon and grated rind in lieu of the lemon extract. The flavor and texture is excellent (used Swan's Down cake flour per box measurement). It was just a bit dry so was probably due to over baking. I will try again and use a Bundt pan. I lost the top crust when I inverted it from the tube pan, top down. Tsk tsk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Hi!! Loved this recipe. I have made it a few times now and it has become a family favorite. Its moist and really yummy. I have added a 1/2 a cup of milk to the recipe for added moisture. Delicious!!! The minute the cake is done, it's eaten immediately!!! It never lasts. My only issues is that no matter how butter I use for the pan, I struggle getting the cake out if the pan nicely. Any tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love this cake. It's been a staple of mine for a few years. It's simple and to the point. Sometimes I do it just like the recipes reads and sometimes I add real lemon juice and no vanilla. I like lemon! :) Then an old school lemon glaze. (Stick of butter creamed with about a pound of powdered sugar and lemon juice from a lemon. Watch the seeds.!) It is always GONE either way and the recipe is always in demand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawntraci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cinnamini
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Yummmy! Absolutely loved it. Do not preheat the oven.. I've made this a few times and I wouldn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was an excellent recipe. Simple ingredients, and easy to follow. I sifted my flour twice and even though the recipe did not call for any, I added 1/4 tsp baking powder. The cake came out very moist, light, and fluffy. My whole family loved it, definitely one for the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious and easy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is definitely the best and awesome pound cake i ever cake very moist and very tasty....i made it just now for my friends son's birthday.....surely i will gonna bake this another round...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaye5176

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States