Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Not sure what happened. Mine turned out very dense. Yes, I know pound cakes are supposed to be dense, but this wasn't very tender at all, and I even substituted cake flour for half the flour, which should have yielded a more tender crumb. The flavor is good, though, but I would have preferred something that rose a little more. If I do try this again, I may follow another favorite recipe and reduce the oven temp to 300 degrees. I'll keep looking, and/or experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Tried it as written and it is a five star recipe! Now, I tried it again with only 2 cups of sugar and real lemon juice and zest. It was even better! I also put a lemon juice and confectioners sugar glaze on top... to die for. Really excellent. I did not have any problems with the cake being dry. It tastes just like my mother's poundcake from when I was a little girl. Dense and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I baked my first homemade cake today using this wonderful recipe. My cake turned out beautifully. It is moist and tastes delicious! I am so proud! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latosha Burch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
One of the best pound cake i've ever tasted. I followed the reviews, added an extra 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup of tenderflake shortening, 1/2 cup of sour cream and i didnt have lemon extract so i replaced it with real lemon juice, and added an extra tsp of vanilla. Really good, next time i'll add lemon rind too. The sad thing is, obviously, this recipe is really fattening! I will make this on extra special occasions ONLY that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! Awesomely delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very delicious ,real light, didn't know how much it would rise so I baked in two pans. I will certainly use this recipe again. I also like a heavier cake as well. If anyone has a great recipe,please share. Wanted to share picture taken from IPad, says it's to small pixels....... Gail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a very tasty cake! It has a coarser crumb more akin to a very rich coffee cake with pound cake yumminess. Its a good cake, more akin to a rich buttermilk cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very potential, my family and I liked it. Not sure if I let it stay in the oven too long. I should have only probably did 45min instead of an hour. But very tasty, love the flavor. A little dry to me, so once again it could have been me. I'm not a pro baker or cooker...lol learning in progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made this cake twice now and every time I have made it, it falls. I put it in a pre heated oven and did not open the door and an hour later it has fallen. I love the flavor but is there something I am doing wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have many pound cake recipes, some from southern family members who were known for their pound cakes, and my family loves them. I am considered a very experienced baker. I followed this recipe as written,with the only exception being that I added lemon and orange zest along with the flavorings. The little extra citrus just adds a fresh clean taste to cakes of this type. I also agree that a key to many good bake goods is to beat the butter and sugar for, at least, five minutes until it looks yellow and creamy. It only took 65 minutes in my oven when baked in a bundt pan and I didn't check it until 1 hour had passed. Keep in mind that ovens do vary and cooking times may not always be exact. I topped mine with a 10x sugar glaze using gran mariner. Just drizzled lightly over warm cake. Also good with lemon glaze, using real lemon juice and zest, or orange zest and juice. This slight tartness might counteract some of the sweetness others don't prefer. We thought this cake was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammy of 3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nottingham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States