Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
One of the best pound cake i've ever tasted. I followed the reviews, added an extra 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup of tenderflake shortening, 1/2 cup of sour cream and i didnt have lemon extract so i replaced it with real lemon juice, and added an extra tsp of vanilla. Really good, next time i'll add lemon rind too. The sad thing is, obviously, this recipe is really fattening! I will make this on extra special occasions ONLY that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love this recipe! Awesomely delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very delicious ,real light, didn't know how much it would rise so I baked in two pans. I will certainly use this recipe again. I also like a heavier cake as well. If anyone has a great recipe,please share. Wanted to share picture taken from IPad, says it's to small pixels....... Gail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a very tasty cake! It has a coarser crumb more akin to a very rich coffee cake with pound cake yumminess. Its a good cake, more akin to a rich buttermilk cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very potential, my family and I liked it. Not sure if I let it stay in the oven too long. I should have only probably did 45min instead of an hour. But very tasty, love the flavor. A little dry to me, so once again it could have been me. I'm not a pro baker or cooker...lol learning in progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made this cake twice now and every time I have made it, it falls. I put it in a pre heated oven and did not open the door and an hour later it has fallen. I love the flavor but is there something I am doing wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have many pound cake recipes, some from southern family members who were known for their pound cakes, and my family loves them. I am considered a very experienced baker. I followed this recipe as written,with the only exception being that I added lemon and orange zest along with the flavorings. The little extra citrus just adds a fresh clean taste to cakes of this type. I also agree that a key to many good bake goods is to beat the butter and sugar for, at least, five minutes until it looks yellow and creamy. It only took 65 minutes in my oven when baked in a bundt pan and I didn't check it until 1 hour had passed. Keep in mind that ovens do vary and cooking times may not always be exact. I topped mine with a 10x sugar glaze using gran mariner. Just drizzled lightly over warm cake. Also good with lemon glaze, using real lemon juice and zest, or orange zest and juice. This slight tartness might counteract some of the sweetness others don't prefer. We thought this cake was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammy of 3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nottingham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Like a lot of other folks, I adjusted the recipe to suit my taste. I usually think there is too much sugar used, decreased to 2 cups. Used the zest and juice of one large lemon, and added half cup sour cream. Got good reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I weighed all the ingredients, followed the recipe exactly and did not over bake but this cake turned out incredibly dry. This recipe is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This cake does taste good but definitely needs extra vanilla and/or lemon extract and less sugar than called for. Definitely needs to be eaten at room temp. And don't over whip the eggs and butter and be gentle with mixing in the flour. I don't think I'll make again but if I do I'll definitely add extra buttermilk as per other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States