Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was the first cake I've baked. I'm not a sweet eater, so this cake was just right. It looked and tasted awesome. I followed everything it said & my family loved it! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
delicious! I halved the recipe and it only took an hour to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I used a bundt pan instead of a tube pan and maybe that was not a good choice. The cake rose over the sides and was hard to get out. Other than that, the cake taste great and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I thought I'd try this for a change but found the cake dry on the inside and the crust was very crunchy. Also, the cake stuck to my pan so much that I couldn't get it out 10 minutes after it came out of the oven despite having greased the pan (and not after 30 minutes either). I consider myself a very experienced baker but this recipe did not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janneke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is fantastic, and after using this recipe numerous times I have a few tips. When you cream the butter and sugar, make sure the butter is soft, but not totally melted. Instead of using lemon extract, I just use real lemon juice. If you're out of buttermilk, a good substitute is just one tablespoon of lemon juice added to one cup of milk. Let the mixture stand for about five minutes, then mix it and use it as buttermilk. I also like a bit of a rum flavor in my pound cake, so I mix in about two to three table spoons of rum along with the milk. Make sure that you beat everything very well after each addition (butter, sugar, eggs, flour, milk, rum) or else when your pound cake gets out of the oven, you'll have inconsistencies in color in your cake. And I took one of the suggestions on here and sprinkled some sugar on the sides of my pans so that the sides of the cake are a little carmel-y. I bake it at 330 degrees for at least an hour and then check it every ten minutes depending on how large my pan is. I just take it out when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Everyone who's tried my pound cake says it's one of the best they've ever had. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Master Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
--tried yesterday, and was really yummy pound cake. did little bit substitute on buttermilk with fresh milk add 2tbs of lemon. Thank you Cathy f/the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This cake was fabulouso!!! My family loved it. Even more, my Grandmother said it was the best cake she has tasted in 20 years. In place of the white sugar, I used brown sugar. I also grated alittle bit of lemon into the batter. Thanks everyone for the wonderful suggestion. Next time I'm going to add alittle cardamon. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very flavorful, moist buttermilk pound cake. I made this in a bundt pan. I chose to use lemon zest and real lemon juice (no extract). Thou the recipe calls for 3 cups of white sugar, the cake was not overly sweet which was great. The cake baked in 90 minutes. I finished off the pound cake with a glaze (one cup powdered confectioner's sugar and fresh lemon juice) drizzled over the cake. This is one of the best pound cakes I've come across. It is a very moist cake with a golden brown crumb. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This cake was easy to make, flavorful and just darn right sinful. I used the juice of 1 whole lemon in the cake and 3 lemons in the glaze. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I loved this recipe! I've never made pound cake before and was craving some kind of cake with ingredients I already had. After reading reviews, I added an extra tsp vanilla, and instead of lemon extract I used zest from a good size lemon and the juice. I also made a glaze from a cup of powdered sugar and the juice of another lemon to make it sticky but runny enough. I poked a bunch of holes in the cake and put the glaze on top. Delicious!! The only down side is that it took so long to bake...I took about ten or fifteen minutes off the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States