Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Other than subbing an extra tsp. of Vanilla for the Lemon, I followed the directions exactly. Not only did the cake completely stick to the inside of my pan and fall apart when I tried to get it out, what came out had absolutely no taste at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was an easy recipe to follow. Although, the cake looked lovely but crust came out too hard :(. I saw another review that this could have been due to the long cook time..So I'll try again and reduce cook time to an hour..But overall I enjoyed baking this cake...Practice makes Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
If I could give this more than five stars, I would! It was excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception. I used butter flavor instead of the lemon. My husband doesn't like lemon, and I didn't want to take the chance of the lemon standing out too much. It was my first ever attempt at a pound cake from scratch. It was so easy and delicious! I will definitely make this again...soon! We ate it plain, no whipped cream, no fruit, nothing. And I didn't miss any of it! Moist and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is a good tasting cake. But, mine was a little dry with a hard outer crust. I think the cooking time is way off like some of the other reviewers have suggested. I just hate it when you present a cake that isn't perfect. :( I will try it again and check the cake after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time today and i give it a thumbs up. I am not a baker at all but if I could follow all the directions and it turned out so delicious, I definately will be making this again soon. Thanks Cathy and allrecipe.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made this tonight after dinner and it turned out pretty good. I split it between 2 loaf pans as I don't have a bundt pan. I baked it for about an hour and 15 min. I substituted 3 tsp of lemon juice for the lemon extract. It had a wonderful flavor. The density wasn't quite right for a pound cake, so I will take the advice given to omit one egg white from the 6 eggs next time. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigrbtrfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Followed the instructions exactly as written(with the exception of baking in mini loaf pans) and it was really good! Tastes homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
every time I bring this to the potluck my friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was definitely homemade from scratch, it has a good taste, probably would have tasted better if I had the right cake pan and followed one of the reviewers advice on mixing it by spoon rather than the electric mixer. It still came out pretty good other wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States