Buttermilk Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cake is delicious-moist and dense!Made my own buttermilk and separated my eggs making sure to beat the egg whites stiff and adding to the batter last by folding in. I also creamed butter and sugar together before adding other directions from the recipe. This recipe is Husband and toddler approved and they are a tough crowd! Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheneka Sheneka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Wonderful pound cake. I didn't have any lemon flavoring so I used 2 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp almond flavoring. I also added 8 oz. sour cream. It was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good & moist cake. Not as dense as previous pond cakes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I just made this cake for a friend of mine for her Thanksgiving dinner. Can I say that my kitchen had this wonderful smell and the cake turned out beautifully. The ONLY change I made was to substitute almond for the vanilla. It's safe to say I will definitely be making this for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maureen Jackson-Barnes
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
The only recipe I use!! Everyone absolutely love them, they k love them so much, sometimes I get tired of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My lady friend loved this recipe. However, I added a name (Apple Cinnamon Crush Cake) some cinnamon and 3 cored/sliced apples. Instead of cooking it for 1 1/2 hours, It cooked for 1 hour. Its still turned out great thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Getta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was very heavy and extremely sweet. Definitely reduce the sugar and a bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Ang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
EXCELLENT, my first cake ever and was a success ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I love the moist texture. I used the juice of one lemon, since I didn't have lemon extract. I'm glad that I heeded the advice of other reviewers and checked for doneness at 60 minutes; my cake was done after 70 minutes. However, it was a bit too sweet for my liking. I will make this again, but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe last night, and overall, the cake was super moist and flavorful. The only thing I would tweak is the amount of sugar the recipe called for; it was a tad too sweet for my palate. Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States