Buttermilk Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
It was good but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is one great, easy recipe! I followed the recipe ingredients with only one exception: I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening (butter flavored) because it just isn't pound cake without the butter. I used this recipe to make cupcakes with what I had on hand, and they're WONDERFUL. Not too sweet, a slight lemon-vanilla flavor (without adding any vanilla), and the perfect base for my lemon buttercream icing. These were the hit of the cupcake table at our store's weekend sale/open house. NOTE: With the baking powder/soda/buttermilk combo these really rose. Fill cupcake liners only 1/2 full for perfectly sized cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Moist cake, but not something I'd make again. Flavor was kind of bland (I added some vanilla before baking) and baked cake was a little greasy, I'd imagine from the shortening in the recipe. Definitely nothing spectacular (or tangy, as the description says)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This one's a keeper. I was in a hurry, so I substituted self-rising flour, but added an extra 1/4 tsp. baking soda (because of the buttermilk). I decreased the flour by 1/4 cup and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious!! I will make this again, followed the recipe exactly and it turned out moist and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is your standard buttermilk pound cake. I used butter instead of shortening and do add two more eggs to increase the moistness. I also added 2 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1 Tbsp. of real lemon juice. I served this with fresh fruit and real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I loved this cake! I had no shortening so, I used butter instead and set oven to 350. Brought cake in to share with co-workers and they loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great recipe...i increased the buttermilk by about a couple of tablespoons and i didnt have any lemon extract so i added a couple teaspoons of lemon zest a little pineapple extract for flavor...was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance451

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
It was OK. The people in my family who like pound cake liked it but I thought it tasted like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
really good taste, moist and flavorful. However, I found that it was necessary to cook at 350° F and for the full hour. Other than that a worthwhile recipe to attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States