Buttermilk Potato Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very nice change from flour breading! I pounded chicken breasts, added ground Parmesan, pepper flakes, a packet of dry zesty Italian dressing, cayenne and paprika to the potato flakes. I fried it in half coconut oil, half olive oil. It was light, tasty and very easy to make. The chicken came out very tender from the overnight marinade! Bet it is good with the ranch another lady mentioned as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Just from experience I added smoked paprika, garlic salt and a pinch of cayanne to both the buttermilk marinade and the coating. I also changed the method somewhat. Marinate the chicken, I used boneless skinless breast cut into serving size pieces, then dip the buttermilk soaked chicken into the flour and set aside while dredging the remaining chicken. Then the dredged chicken go back into the buttermilk for a quick coating and then into the seasoned potato flakes. I used a cast iron skillet - browned one side, flipped and then into a 400 degree oven. Crispy and moist with the breading in tact. Thanks for a nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
If I could give it more stars I would. This is an excellent and easy to prepare dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
even though i did not have buttermilk i used a substitute and did not let it sit for four hours this turned out great . it was crispy and lots of flavor i will be making this lots . yummy yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I'm going to try this but add a packet of ranch dressing mix to the buttermilk, let it marinate, then season with some black pepper and salt to flavor the chicken then use flavored potato flakes like garlic and herb, use more oil and i BELIEVE it would be totally awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magen Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Yes get into your spice collection and add a lil' sumpin to the buttermilk marinade. I opted to do a 1/3 sour cream and onion chips, 1/3 potato flakes and a 1/3 flour. Double bread the chops by taking them out of the marinade, into the breading, then in egg water mixture, then back in breading. Then put in good n' hot oil. 1/2 a cup is not enough. Turn these delicately and use a spatula to take them out or yes the breading will fall off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Yum! I was worried it would be bland, so I added some BBQ sauce before dipping in the potato mixture and I used seasoning salt instead of poultry seasoning. Delicious, fried up nice and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
If you want a really good flavor season the cicken before you put it in the buttermilk as well as seasoning the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Montgomery Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Dissapointed! I think I added too much of the potato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Fantasticconcept, makes great porkchops also.Always pound breasts if large and cut in half & pound pork chops thin before marinating Anyone who really cooks, knows to adjust amounts and seasonings to their own tastes. for all recipes Try crushed saltines,rice krispies, or breadcrums with half flour for differnt coatings We do like the potato flakes I add seeasonings like garlic powder and 1 teaspoon more salt this recipe makes economical pork steaks tender and terrific! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States