Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good. Cooked nicely and the family loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
So very rich and delicious. The only thing I'd change is the amount of sugar. (Since I've reduced my sugar intake, I can't take things that are too sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We are always searching for recipes sweetened with honey, and I modified this one to use honey. I replaced sugar with 1 cup honey and reduced buttermilk to 3/4 cup. I baked at 325 degrees for about 50 - 55 min. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yummmooo! We are not sweet eaters....but his was def an exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very, very good buttermilk pie. Next time I will reduce sugar by 1/2-2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
AMAZING!! I had a lot of extra buttermilk from previously making a white chocolate cake. I had never even heard of buttermilk pie, but it sounded interesting. I tried it out one day, making one 9 inch deep dish pie and it was metrically the perfect amount of filling. My family loved it as did my coworkers. Still had buttermilk and decided to make two nine inch smaller pies, worked perfectly with the filling once more. I gave one Pie away and they loved it, kept the other one for a bbq and everyone who tried it loved it. Both times i used nutmeg and cinnamon in them. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because i feel it can still be a bit better, something is missing and I plan on finding out what it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Lynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Castroville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Slight changes to the recipe (all suggested by other reviewers). I cooked my pie shell for 4 minutes, I subbed one tbsp of flour for cornstarch and used slightly less sugar than called for. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. The batter CURDLED. I freaked out and thought it was ruined, but cooked it anyway with small hope. Then I read online somewhere else that this might happen and not to panic. I still had my doubts, especially when the top looked very brown. BUT!!!! It tastes great! The top is brown, but not burnt and as another reviewer stated, it gives it a good flavor. It's very lemony with just 1 tbsp of lemon, but I might consider adding the zest next time. I have no idea why it curdled though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was ok, definetly better the next day. I needed to use up some buttermilk and found this to be interesting. I will probably make again. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
A good old-fashioned pie. It took 70 minutes to bake, and I covered the crust partway through cookiing so it wouldn't get burnt. I liked the browning on top and felt that it added to the flavor. The only thing I'll do differently next time is reduce the sugar. Both my RM and I felt that the pie is too sweet as-is. And the key to this pie's success is a nice balance between sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States