Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was hard to rate because in some ways I liked it and in some ways I didn't. I think it's a good start but next time I would use much less sugar. Too sweet for my taste. I also think I am going to leave out the lemon and use cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Just my personal taste. Although I like lemon I think it made it too tart but maybe that was the buttermilk. I've never had buttermilk Pie before so that might be how it's supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Turned out perfect! I used fresh squeezed lemon juice -- not sure if that made a difference but it is sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
If I could give ten stars I would ,Love buttermilk pie so so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Loved this pie. Followed the recipe as it is with exception of adding chopped walnuts to the top prior to baking. It turned out great and is now my favorite Buttermilk Pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This Recipe is fabulous! Buttermilk pie is my dad's favorite but i didn't have a Recipe for it. I used this and made him a pie all to himself this Christmas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this after a last minute menu change for Thanksgiving since I had an extra pie crust and everything on hand. I would have given it all 5 stars except that I did make some very slight changes: I followed the recommendation to start the filling in the microwave as I was worried about getting the crust/top too dark (photo honestly didn't build confidence either). I basically warmed the filling with one minute increments, whisking before adding time since I didn't want to scramble the eggs. Once is was fairly hot I poured it into the shell and followed the baking instructions. I also switched out the nutmeg for cinnamon for personal preference and after tasting it we all agreed that that was the right choice...very little was and my left and my mother-in-law enjoyed having a pie her mom use to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
It really is a delicious pie, I made it exactly - lemon, vanilla & sprinkled with nutmeg before baking, the three flavorings together just make it so yum. I made homemade lard pie crust which puts it over the top decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
we have tried this recipe twice and we love it , its got an old time cozy flavor, this pie and a good cup of hot coco mmmmmmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I read some of the reviews and did these changes. Microwaved the filling for 4 min to get it going, also baked the crust for about 4 min as well, to avoid pie being runny. Also instead of 3 Tbsp of flour I used 2 and added 1 Tbsp of corn starch, thinking it will help the pie set and it did! Took 50 min in the owen and top didn't burn and yet, pie was nice and firm, it settled even more after it cooled off. However I found it bit too sweet, so next time I will cut down the sugar just a tad. Overall will make it again with these changes, otherwise it would have bee all 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Una

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe! I left out the lemon juice and used cinamon instead of nutmeg. Also, I used 2 tablespoons of vanilla and 1 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Came out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States