Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
If I could give ten stars I would ,Love buttermilk pie so so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Loved this pie. Followed the recipe as it is with exception of adding chopped walnuts to the top prior to baking. It turned out great and is now my favorite Buttermilk Pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This Recipe is fabulous! Buttermilk pie is my dad's favorite but i didn't have a Recipe for it. I used this and made him a pie all to himself this Christmas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this after a last minute menu change for Thanksgiving since I had an extra pie crust and everything on hand. I would have given it all 5 stars except that I did make some very slight changes: I followed the recommendation to start the filling in the microwave as I was worried about getting the crust/top too dark (photo honestly didn't build confidence either). I basically warmed the filling with one minute increments, whisking before adding time since I didn't want to scramble the eggs. Once is was fairly hot I poured it into the shell and followed the baking instructions. I also switched out the nutmeg for cinnamon for personal preference and after tasting it we all agreed that that was the right choice...very little was and my left and my mother-in-law enjoyed having a pie her mom use to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
It really is a delicious pie, I made it exactly - lemon, vanilla & sprinkled with nutmeg before baking, the three flavorings together just make it so yum. I made homemade lard pie crust which puts it over the top decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
we have tried this recipe twice and we love it , its got an old time cozy flavor, this pie and a good cup of hot coco mmmmmmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I read some of the reviews and did these changes. Microwaved the filling for 4 min to get it going, also baked the crust for about 4 min as well, to avoid pie being runny. Also instead of 3 Tbsp of flour I used 2 and added 1 Tbsp of corn starch, thinking it will help the pie set and it did! Took 50 min in the owen and top didn't burn and yet, pie was nice and firm, it settled even more after it cooled off. However I found it bit too sweet, so next time I will cut down the sugar just a tad. Overall will make it again with these changes, otherwise it would have bee all 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Una

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe! I left out the lemon juice and used cinamon instead of nutmeg. Also, I used 2 tablespoons of vanilla and 1 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Came out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was really good! The second pie I have ever made in my life and it turned out great! I did put my eggs out so they would be at room temp when I mixed everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I wish that I knew what buttermilk pie should taste like or what the texture was supposed to be like. Not sure mine cooked the whole way through. I think I should have left in a little longer. (left in 50 min.) The top set but the filling closer to the bottom is a little more custardy (I know that's not a word) than I think it is supposed to be. Used a regular sized 9 inch pie crust and the filling spilled over. (glad I put foil on bottom rack to catch the spillage!) If I tried this pie again I would make in a deep dish and cook longer and on the bottom rack as someone suggested. Also would cover the crust with foil 1/2 way through to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States