Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This pie had an excellent texture and taste. I think the secret is the lemon juice. I surprised my husband by making this in November and he was in heaven. It was my first attempt at making Buttermilk Pie and it turned out fantastic! Use FULL fat ingredients (otherwise, why bother). I used a frozen pie crust which turned out great in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
A nice chane from usual pies. Not too sweet. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good. Cooked nicely and the family loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
So very rich and delicious. The only thing I'd change is the amount of sugar. (Since I've reduced my sugar intake, I can't take things that are too sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We are always searching for recipes sweetened with honey, and I modified this one to use honey. I replaced sugar with 1 cup honey and reduced buttermilk to 3/4 cup. I baked at 325 degrees for about 50 - 55 min. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yummmooo! We are not sweet eaters....but his was def an exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very, very good buttermilk pie. Next time I will reduce sugar by 1/2-2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
AMAZING!! I had a lot of extra buttermilk from previously making a white chocolate cake. I had never even heard of buttermilk pie, but it sounded interesting. I tried it out one day, making one 9 inch deep dish pie and it was metrically the perfect amount of filling. My family loved it as did my coworkers. Still had buttermilk and decided to make two nine inch smaller pies, worked perfectly with the filling once more. I gave one Pie away and they loved it, kept the other one for a bbq and everyone who tried it loved it. Both times i used nutmeg and cinnamon in them. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because i feel it can still be a bit better, something is missing and I plan on finding out what it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Lynn

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Castroville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Slight changes to the recipe (all suggested by other reviewers). I cooked my pie shell for 4 minutes, I subbed one tbsp of flour for cornstarch and used slightly less sugar than called for. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. The batter CURDLED. I freaked out and thought it was ruined, but cooked it anyway with small hope. Then I read online somewhere else that this might happen and not to panic. I still had my doubts, especially when the top looked very brown. BUT!!!! It tastes great! The top is brown, but not burnt and as another reviewer stated, it gives it a good flavor. It's very lemony with just 1 tbsp of lemon, but I might consider adding the zest next time. I have no idea why it curdled though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States