Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent. ..Tastes better as the days go by if you can keep it that long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the best & easiest pie recipe ever! I am not a hardcore baker but you would never know it because this recipe made my buttermilk pies a hit over the holidays! Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe. The first 3 pies I made using this recipe, I substitued with Crisco butter flavored sticks. The last pie I made, I used regular butter. The only difference is that with regular butter the pie will bubble more and release a lot of air but it makes for a prettier pie.Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Stumbled on this recipe one day when I needed to use up some buttermilk.....it has now become my son in laws favorite pie! (Beats out pumpkin!!) 1 L of buttermilk will make 4 pies. Freezes fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Too much sugar in this recipe. It is not balanced. I have a sweet tooth, but this buttermilk pie taste like a sugar pie. Although, I am a lemon lover the lemon juice also makes this pie super lemony and that doesn't balance well with the nutmeg. I say go with lemon and add zest and leave out the nutmeg all together, or cut down the lemon juice to 1 tsp. in this recipe. Still too much sugar tho. The cooking time is not great either for the unbaked pie shell called for in this recipe. I had a soggy shell on this pie that would have easily been rectified by either half blind baking the shell or cooking at a higher temperature at the beginning of the cooking and then turning it down after 10-15 min. Still on the hunt for that perfect buttermilk pie I grew up eating here in S. Texas. This ain't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Variation: I added about 2-3 tablespoons of rum and and substituted 1/4 of the sugar with shredded coconut. This works really well with the lemon. The original recipe is great too. Overall this recipe is super easy and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made this oh-so-remarkable pie today using the adjustments recommended by others (sugar reduced from 1.5 cups to 1 cup and butter reduced from 8 tablespoons to 5) and it was utter perfection. I chose this recipe WITH the above amendments after researching new and old family recipes around the internet. I wanted to get this Buttermilk Pie right the very first time, because I was making it for someone special. So glad to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Quick and easy, pie came out perfect! A big hit at our house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Turned out great, I didn't have butter milk so I used cream cheese with regular milk. Was delicious, Definitely a keeper ; my husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this one exactly as directed. It was fast, simple and DELICIOUS! I'm making it again tonight because my husband (the pie connoisseur!) LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I was going to rate this with 4 stars because I thought it was just a tad too sweet but my husband said it was the best buttermilk pie he's had so I gave it 5 stars. I also used a homemade pie crust from allrecipes.com Basic Flaky Pie Crust. What is nice about this crust is that I have not made one bad crust and when I make extra I can freeze it and it still comes out nice and flaky! I took a bit of advise from another reviewer and used cinnamon as well as the nutmeg. This really is an easy pie recipe and I wil probably make another one tomorrow for a gathering of our friends. I am really pleased with this pie and cannot believe that I've been buying slices for the price it takes to make one! This is about the most fool-proof recipe one can ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States