Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I was going to rate this with 4 stars because I thought it was just a tad too sweet but my husband said it was the best buttermilk pie he's had so I gave it 5 stars. I also used a homemade pie crust from allrecipes.com Basic Flaky Pie Crust. What is nice about this crust is that I have not made one bad crust and when I make extra I can freeze it and it still comes out nice and flaky! I took a bit of advise from another reviewer and used cinnamon as well as the nutmeg. This really is an easy pie recipe and I wil probably make another one tomorrow for a gathering of our friends. I am really pleased with this pie and cannot believe that I've been buying slices for the price it takes to make one! This is about the most fool-proof recipe one can ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Delicious! Even without vanilla or lemon juice. I used a 9 inch pie pan, it took 60 minutes. I made this gluten free by subbing the flour part w/ 2 Tbl of white rice flour and 1 Tbl of cornstarch, and used gluten free crust. I did add chopped pecans to it. It was really pretty too. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is excellent! Only changes I made was used 1 cup sugar and no crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
First attempt at this and it was good but a little too sweet for my tastes. Being diabetic I used splenda instead of sugar, possibly that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
The flavor of this pie is exceptional, but I couldn't get it to firm up for the life of me! I don't know if the temperature gauge is off in my oven or what, but I left this in waaaaay longer than it needed to be. Maybe if I make it again I'll use some cornmeal to help it thicken as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very good. I substituted vinegar for lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My first attempt, and I'm a believer! I used the very small tin foil pie plates, which worked well. That's because I only had 1/3 cup of buttermilk left over! Question-- Should I have baked it until it was as dark as the picture, or is that something else sprinkled on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
One of the best buttermilk pies i have ever had!!! i did not have any nutmeg on hand so i used cinnamon instead thank you sooo much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
LOVED THIS!! I followed the recipe as stated, but think next time I might microwave it for just a few minutes as one of the other reviewer stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was way to sweet for us. If I make it again. I will take the advice from another person and use spenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States