Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
great pie! only way I could have made it better was if I used homemade crust!! I did reduce the sugar but the pie was on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Perfect! Didn't change a thing. Will make again. And again. And again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Super easy made it twice, 2nd time I cut back on sugar by 1/3 and was even better..thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I recommend: If you get frozen 9-inch pie crusts you MUST pre-cook it. Marie Callendar's pie crusts instruct people to pre-cook it about 10 mins at 400 degrees after pricking the sides and bottom thoroughly. First thaw them at room temp for 15 mins. This is very important. I think if people skip this step then any pies, specifically custard or pudding type pies will not set in the center. Secondly, I would use a Meyer lemon, these lemons are not so "sour" and they are great for cooking with a nice lemon but not sour flavor. A bit of lemon zest, as someone recommended, sure, why not? I cut the sugar down to only 1 C. Some people love super sweet pies and others do not. So it's personal taste. Just recall that true Southern pies tend to be very very sugary, so keep this in mind. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Came out perfectly! I left out the lemon juice and added extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Fabulous! The best chess pie I've ever had. After baking for 30 minutes I reduced the oven temperature by 25 degrees and laid a piece of foil over the pie to prevent the top from over browning. This increased the baking time to about seventy minutes, but the extra time was worth it. A beautiful pie worthy of a state fair ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Best buttermilk pie recipe I have tried, and I tried a few! I did leave out the lemon and 2 teaspoon vanilla and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. What really impressed me was the creamy texture that I was not getting in other recipes, nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was amazing. I never have even heard of buttermilk pie so I no idea what to expect. I used a deep dish pie pan with a store bought crust and it came out awesome. Followed the recipe exactly even the cooking time. Would not change a thing. I'll be making this for the next picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made 2 pies and it was wonderful my only problem was it was kinda sweet so I am making some today and Im going to try and dial back the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used refrigerated, pre-rolled pie crusts, and made 2 pies (out of one recipe... it would be great for a single deep-dish pie, but there's too much for a regular pie plate). Because one of the reviewers mentioned that she almost burned the crust the first time she made it, I covered the edges of my crust with aluminum foil, which kept them from scorching. When I tested the pies for doneness at 40 minutes, they still needed a few minutes, so I took off the aluminum foil and when the pies were done the crusts were a lovely golden brown. Apart from splitting the filling between two shells, I made no other substitutions, and believe me, this recipe doesn't need any! Wonderful pie... a new favorite. I'm glad I made 2, so I can freeze one for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States