Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Fabulous! The best chess pie I've ever had. After baking for 30 minutes I reduced the oven temperature by 25 degrees and laid a piece of foil over the pie to prevent the top from over browning. This increased the baking time to about seventy minutes, but the extra time was worth it. A beautiful pie worthy of a state fair ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Best buttermilk pie recipe I have tried, and I tried a few! I did leave out the lemon and 2 teaspoon vanilla and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. What really impressed me was the creamy texture that I was not getting in other recipes, nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was amazing. I never have even heard of buttermilk pie so I no idea what to expect. I used a deep dish pie pan with a store bought crust and it came out awesome. Followed the recipe exactly even the cooking time. Would not change a thing. I'll be making this for the next picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I made 2 pies and it was wonderful my only problem was it was kinda sweet so I am making some today and Im going to try and dial back the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used refrigerated, pre-rolled pie crusts, and made 2 pies (out of one recipe... it would be great for a single deep-dish pie, but there's too much for a regular pie plate). Because one of the reviewers mentioned that she almost burned the crust the first time she made it, I covered the edges of my crust with aluminum foil, which kept them from scorching. When I tested the pies for doneness at 40 minutes, they still needed a few minutes, so I took off the aluminum foil and when the pies were done the crusts were a lovely golden brown. Apart from splitting the filling between two shells, I made no other substitutions, and believe me, this recipe doesn't need any! Wonderful pie... a new favorite. I'm glad I made 2, so I can freeze one for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent. ..Tastes better as the days go by if you can keep it that long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the best & easiest pie recipe ever! I am not a hardcore baker but you would never know it because this recipe made my buttermilk pies a hit over the holidays! Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe. The first 3 pies I made using this recipe, I substitued with Crisco butter flavored sticks. The last pie I made, I used regular butter. The only difference is that with regular butter the pie will bubble more and release a lot of air but it makes for a prettier pie.Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Stumbled on this recipe one day when I needed to use up some buttermilk.....it has now become my son in laws favorite pie! (Beats out pumpkin!!) 1 L of buttermilk will make 4 pies. Freezes fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Too much sugar in this recipe. It is not balanced. I have a sweet tooth, but this buttermilk pie taste like a sugar pie. Although, I am a lemon lover the lemon juice also makes this pie super lemony and that doesn't balance well with the nutmeg. I say go with lemon and add zest and leave out the nutmeg all together, or cut down the lemon juice to 1 tsp. in this recipe. Still too much sugar tho. The cooking time is not great either for the unbaked pie shell called for in this recipe. I had a soggy shell on this pie that would have easily been rectified by either half blind baking the shell or cooking at a higher temperature at the beginning of the cooking and then turning it down after 10-15 min. Still on the hunt for that perfect buttermilk pie I grew up eating here in S. Texas. This ain't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Variation: I added about 2-3 tablespoons of rum and and substituted 1/4 of the sugar with shredded coconut. This works really well with the lemon. The original recipe is great too. Overall this recipe is super easy and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States