Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Fantastic! Used a couple drops of Lemon Essential Oil and added blue berries! Oh My Goodness! Perfection Simplified! Will DEFINATELY make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I made this for Father's Day last week and it was great! I didn't change a thing....thanks for the great recipe it was definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlene Jernigan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I personally though it was too heavy, but that could just be because it's a buttermilk pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
My son and husband loved this. Simple and delicious. I used a deep dish ceramic pie plate but wished I would have used a regular 9" pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This pie is delicious made following the recipe exactly. It is similar to a custard pie, but creamier and less eggy. Cook it until the middle no longer jiggles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
You can't go wrong with this. Just made it and my family devoured it! Will make again for Easter at family's request. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this without the crust, so I guess it wasn't really pie - but very different! And delicious!(That left out a lot of calories, too.) As long as I was juicing a lemon, I grated in about a tsp. or so of zest, which really "brightened" up the flavor. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I have mixed feelings although I did like it. BUT...I only used a scant cup of sugar (hence 4 stars) as 1-1/2 cups appeared overkill for myself. Mine tasted just fine on sweet level. I did use that True Lemon powder (1/2 t) instead of lemon juice. I also blind baked a pre-made crust by Pillsbury which is a deep dish type and entire filling fit right in. Also, I screwed up and dumped the buttermilk in the butter/sugar mix b4 the eggs and it was pretty grainy. So I put the mix in micro for 1 minute (1000 watt) and it became smooth and creamy. I have these silicone crust protectors called "tan not burn" and used it during entire baking. In the end...good pie although nothing I've tried before. Heck, we ate it! lol. It needs 'something' but not sure what. Also, I did start at 400 for 15 minutes and reduced to 350 for 30 minutes, shut oven off and left it alone for 10 more minutes. I've decided I like this room temp, not refrigerated. Didn't get a chance to freeze any because this pie flavor grows on you and 2 of us ate it all in 3 days. I will make again when I have excess buttermilk to use up and maybe add more lemon/nutmeg. Thanks for the great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is the hands down fav. At our house now that summer is over and blackberries aren't in season for BlackBerry cobbler. This was SO GOOD! I only put half the amount of butter when I make a double recipe, since I did this once when I didn't have enough. So delicious and still AWESOME. We also use our homemade buttermilk from our raw cows milk....mmm. I'm only 15, but hey...it's still easy to make for non cookers as well. I do suggest putting less sugar...and more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I thought it was great!!!! I have used my Grammy Ruth's recipe for YEARS... and this was right there in the goodness and tastiness of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Pumpkin Pie Spice

See how to make a spice mixture for pumpkin pie, muffins, breads, and more.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States