Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS! I have NEVER had this pie before. It was like a combination of butterscotch and vanilla and melt in your mouth GOOD! The only thing I wasn't sure of was whether or not I should pre-bake the crust... I did not.. and it turned out SMASHING! Anytime I have leftover buttermilk from my famous pancakes, I am most certainly going to make this pie again and again! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I reduced the sugar in this recipe to a cup and added 2/3 cup sweetened coconut flakes and 2/3 cup of chocolate chips and 4 eggs instead of 3. My family now loves this and I make it for all the potluck dinners I go to and get rave reviews and numerous requests for my recipe. I hope you enjoy!! Never be afraid to experiment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrellee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I followed the instructions exactly and the only change I made was a sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar on the top before baking. If you like pecan pie but find it to be too rich then I encourage you to try this one. It is very similar in flavor but not nearly as heavy and rich as pecan pie. In fact,the next time I make it I'm going to try it as a base for a pecan pie. It couldn't be easier to make and the ingredients are very inexpensive. All I had to buy was the buttermilk. And don't worry if you hate buttermilk (as I certainly do) you won't even taste it. This is a very creamy, sweet, and highly addictive pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Although it was great overall, I think it would be better with a little less sugar. To me, it tasted like almost pure sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I saw a show on TV about a resturant that served Buttermilk pie. I never heard of it and decided that I would look up a recipe. Not only is this recipe easy its wonderful. I took the advice on some reviews and reduced the amount of sugar. My crust didn't burn and I even left it in the oven 10 minutes longer to brown the top some more. The top is crunchy and mixes well with the gooey inside. This is so good! I really didn't know what to expect, but I am pleasantly surprised. It is really sweet and has a wonderful after taste. I can't wait to take this work, I am sure everyone will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This pie was very good with a rich, tangy, buttery custard that melts in your mouth. I took the recommendation of another reviewer and cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, but I felt like it was still too sweet. I like to taste the flavor of the dish, not just the sugar. Next time, I'll cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup. Otherwise a very easy and very tasty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was the BEST pie! I had never made it before...and my family just raved over it. However, I did take the advice of one reviewer and instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 3/4, and I had forgotten to buy a deep dish so I divided the pies into two regular 9" shells and baked two pies. It turned out great and I have already shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I had some buttermilk left over from some muffins I made a few days ago. I'm so happy I used it for this pie it is delicious!! I did make my own crust, and sprinkled some cinnamon over the top. Great Recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by Cdelasbour1
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed the instruction to a "T" and product two delicous pies. It was a hit at work, both pies were gone before the ,iddle of my shift. Simple to make and tastes great!! Can't bet those qualities about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdelasbour1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Very Good! This pie was so simple and delicious. I had never had buttermilk pie before, and this was a smash. I did add some tart apples to the recipe for just some added fruit, by barely getting them tender over low heat with some sugar and cinnamon. I added this before I poured the filling into the pie, some of the apples floated to the top, and baked up absolutely gorgeous and were very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States