Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Love this receipe! So easy to make and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
All I can say is....DELICIOUS. Everyone loved it. Will make it again and again. Served with fresh strawberries and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Although it was great overall, I think it would be better with a little less sugar. To me, it tasted like almost pure sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS! I have NEVER had this pie before. It was like a combination of butterscotch and vanilla and melt in your mouth GOOD! The only thing I wasn't sure of was whether or not I should pre-bake the crust... I did not.. and it turned out SMASHING! Anytime I have leftover buttermilk from my famous pancakes, I am most certainly going to make this pie again and again! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My family absolutely loved this recipe. This is one I'll definitely keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Very Good! This pie was so simple and delicious. I had never had buttermilk pie before, and this was a smash. I did add some tart apples to the recipe for just some added fruit, by barely getting them tender over low heat with some sugar and cinnamon. I added this before I poured the filling into the pie, some of the apples floated to the top, and baked up absolutely gorgeous and were very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was the BEST pie! I had never made it before...and my family just raved over it. However, I did take the advice of one reviewer and instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 3/4, and I had forgotten to buy a deep dish so I divided the pies into two regular 9" shells and baked two pies. It turned out great and I have already shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I had never heard of this pie before and initially I was skeptical - sounded boring. BOY, WAS I WRONG! It was DELICIOUS!! I even tried to convince my 13-year old that he wouldn't like it and that he should give his piece to me. He took one bite and said "No way"! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This pie was very good with a rich, tangy, buttery custard that melts in your mouth. I took the recommendation of another reviewer and cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, but I felt like it was still too sweet. I like to taste the flavor of the dish, not just the sugar. Next time, I'll cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup. Otherwise a very easy and very tasty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
My children and I have insatiable appetites for sweets. We can eat pounds of candy, or brown sugar right out of the bag--if I were to allow it. So when I read the warnings about this pie being too sweet, I thought, "There's no such thing as too sweet!" Well, let me tell you, this is too sweet. Way too sweet. Even my children complained! If I make this again I'll use only 1 1/2 cups sugar, or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States