Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Huge hit at thanksgiving. I'm sooooooooooo glad I made this, too, since I forgot to put sugar in the pumpkin pie! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Buttermilk pie is a tradition at our house and I lost the recipe. Decided to try this one. Hubby is the Bmilk pie freak and he said it was the best one I had ever made. I reduced the sugar to a little shy of 2 cups but other than that followed the recipe to a T, which is suprising because the other recipe called for three cups sugar which I always reduced. Anyway, thanks so much for the recipe. I'm making it again today cause I bought too much buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Wow, this is very good. I used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup Splenda and it's very very sweet. I may cut back the margarine next time to about 1/2 a stick instead of a full stick and I did use fat-free buttermilk. The pie is very rich and yummy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this flavor of pie! Smooth, vanilla and buttery taste...delicious. I sprinkled cinnamon on top. Forgot to add salt. I'm guessing that would cut some of the sugar. I'm making this every Thanksgiving now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Easy to make, impossible to ruin (if you keep to the recipe), and without a doubt, a 'melt in your mouth' pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
As written, I think this is a little too sweet. I took another user's suggestion and used 1 1/4 c sugar, 4 eggs, and added some shredded coconut and this made a great coconut custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I'd never had buttermilk pie before making this. I had a pre-baked pie crust to use up and some buttermilk, so I tried it. It was very nice, everything we like about pumpkin pie, but without the pumpkin flavor, so there's no one who won't like it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I love this receipe. The only modification that I make is to reduce the sugar by half and it's then sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Add a little cinnamon and sugar when it comes out of the oven. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Baked this pie weekend before last and it was great. Added cream cheese which was good but lumpy my fault. Baked it again this weekend for our family reunion on Labor Day followed the recipe and other reviews about the sugar and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyshay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States