Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Way to sweet, The taste was good but the sweetness was overpowering I used 1 1/4 C of sugar,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups the second time i made this recipe, it tasted too sweet with 2 cups of sugar, i also added 1 cup of blueberries which made it taste like a blueberry custard in a pie crust. If you are going to add fruit add an extrat tblsp or two of flour to take the liquid out of the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My husband and I are huge fans of this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Manor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Pretty good. But this recipe wasn't as good as another I have tried on this site, which I can't find, but continuing my search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happymonkeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yazoo City, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Webb, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was always my brothers favorite pie and nobody but my mother used to make it. So I used this recipe and made him one as a gift on Christmas eve... he ate half sitting right in front of me and finished the other half maybe an hour later! I had to make 6 of them within 1 weeks time! HUGE hit and will now be tradition every year! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Buttermilk pie was something I grew up eating in the south. I recently turned my husband onto eating it (he's from Michigan). He begged me to make one for Christmas. I found this recipe and it seemed very similar to what I've been eating for years. It was very easy to make and came out wonderful. One of the elders in the family said they had been eating buttermilk pie for years and never had one this good. That was a big deal for me. So needless to say this is a pie I'm sure I'll be making time and time again. I'm sure they'll be no complaints either. Especially since I was asked when I'd be making another :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
There is way too much sugar in this. I cut it back to 1 1/2 per other reviews. It was still good but I prefer the Buttermilk Pie on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is such a good pie. I love recipes like this, easy but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Who would have known that buttermilk pie could be so good? Reminded me of a hot cream cheese flan. I did alter the recipe and only used 1 cup of sugar. Next time, I would like to try the recipe as is to compare the 2 results. Used "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust." This flaky crust was perfect with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Way too sweet...and I LOVE desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States