Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Reduction of sugar is necessary...otherwise, it was ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATIEMOON
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yummy, it must be a forgiving recipe. I substituted coconut flavoring for the vanilla and used 2 regular pie crust instead of the deep dish, simply because that it what I had on hand. We really enjoyed it, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wow! I tell you what! This pie is the king of all buttermilk pies. After trying several store-bought pies and tasting them at pie auctions and bake offs (I love to taste) I finally decided to bake my own. This was the fist recipe I tried and the only recipe i will try, and I finally realize why buttermilk pies have transcended throughout the ages. My family worships this pie and are convinced I am the only one who knows how to make a pie (they call it my famous buttermilk pie...shhh)and now expect it at any gathering or event. Just three tweeks more butter, less sugar, and little to no lemon. It'll have 'em beggin' for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Way, way too sweat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This pie was so easy to put together! I did not have buttermilk so I used 1 cup milk with 1 tablespoon lemon juice. I did mess up with the oven temperature. I reduced to 350 instead of 325, so this baby came out of the oven about 15 minutes sooner. It came out beautiful with the top and crust nice and golden. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is Delicious!! Everyone loved this one! Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good. I used butter instead of margarine and more vanilla. It was very sweet, but that is what a Buttermilk Pie is! :) Top browned a little too dark, probably a problem with my oven. I tried to cover with non-stick sprayed foil and accidentally took off part of that... ended up looking GREAT anyway! Watch the actual time in oven at the end. Mine could have taken another 2-3 minutes in order to set really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amhudnall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have made this pie a few times. I am not a very good baker but this pie is easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Wanted to make something sweet with limited ingredients. This hit the spot. Reminds me of a chess pie but tangier because of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I needed items to sell at a youth bake sale and had buttermilk on hand. Since disposable pie tins are rather small, I chose 12 servings and it filled those smaller crusts perfectly. Topped one with coconut, one with cinnamon and another with nutmeg. Did use one stick of butter and 1/2 stick margarine, 2 cups sugar, five eggs, and the rest as portioned by the recipe for 12 servings. Now it is hard to take all three to the sale - smell divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States