Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I had no problems with the pie over flowing or cooking time. The only problem I had was the sugar wouldn't cream for me...I have no idea why this happened. The end product was very sweet but good. I used sugar free cool whip on it and that toned down the sugar a little. Also; this pie tasted better, the longer it sat. My son will love this pie because it tastes like pecan pie without the nuts and that right up his alley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It was AWESOME! I followed others recommendations and one put 1 1/4c sugar. Also, I had to cover loosely with foil to keep from burning and removed it the last 15 minuets. I didn't know where to place it in the oven so I chose the center rack. I doubled the recipe and it worked wonderfully! Thank you for this recipe my Mom has made it for years and I lost the recipe, but this is so close maybe better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
First time making a buttermilk pie and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turtle
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This pie was good, but as many people have said, it was extremely sweet. I had already cut the sugar by about a 1/3 of a cup, but next time I would definitely use 1.5 cups. Also, I baked this in a stoneware that I have only used a few times before, and by the time the top was finished, the bottom was still slightly underdone, so if you're using stoneware I would suggest leaving it in for a bit longer. Still a really tasty pie, and I will definitely make it again with the altered sugar measurement. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is my first ever Buttermilk pie. It is so good and very easy to make. I am sure going to make this agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Not for me but CM likes a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My daughter request this pie all the time! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was my first buttermilk pie. I used a frozen crust from the supermarket. Kept all ingredients the same. I did dd some cinnamon into the mix and also sprinkled some on top during baking. I baked it at the temperature and time stated on the recipe. Overall, it's a delicious pie. Tasted even better the next day. When I make it next time, I may bake the pie shell a bit before pouring in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My family loved this one, however, I only gave this 4 stars because I used less sugar (I think 2 cups would have been overwhelmingly sweet) and I used butter instead of margarine. Also, as an experiment, I made two pies; one with only 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons of sugar (just in case 1 cup wasn't enough since I was cutting way back from 2 cups) using the baking temperatures given in the recipe; and the next day, I made the other using only 1 cup of sugar and baking at 350 degrees for 1 hour as one reviewer recommended. The winner: the "1 cup, 350 degree for 1 hour pie" hands down was the best because it really tasted like vanilla custard. Also, it wasn't as dark on the top so being less carmelized (than the first pie), that cut down on the sweetness as well. Next time, I may even bake it for an extra 3 to 5 minutes since there was a very thin layer on the bottom that was gelled but like pudding...but so good though! In contrast to my first pie with the extra 2 tablespoons of sugar simply tasted sweet. It was good but I see that the extra sugar didn't allow the vanilla flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I cut the amount sugar in half and it was wonderful. Two slices at a time is the only way to eat this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States