Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I made this pie as written but did eliminate a small amount of sugar. The cooking time and temperatures are right on. An excellent pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
FANTASTIC! Normally, I always follow ingredients exactly the FIRST time I make it, however, I thought butter would be better than margarine. Other than that, I followed the directions & ingredients exactly. I would recommend watching your cooking time carefully & removing the pie while it still has a "jiggle" to the dead center. If you don't like rich & sweet pie, this is NOT your recipe. My family thought the flavor was slightly reminiscent of creme brulee'. I served this warm with a dollop of not-too-sweet homemade whipped cream. It was HEAVENLY! This did not have an "eggy" flavor like some of the other buttermilk pie recipes I had tried. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was pretty dang good. I had never had it before, and it tastes of a combination of caramel and toffee with a texture between cheesecake and pudding - it is firm, but creamy. If you have ever cooked butter on the stove and tasted the change, it is similar. I used a store-bought crust - be sure to use deep dish, or else you'll have leftover filling. Everyone at work, to my surprise, raved over this. And it is VERY easy. I will definitely have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Outstanding....I had made this pie years ago when I was first married and lost the recipe in all our moves, but coming across this was a godsend. Tasted exactly how I remember. Sweet and delicious. Very easy to make and good warm or cold. Thanks so much Carla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Santos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
YUM!!!!! Turned out wonderfully. I followed the directions exactly, well except for the Margarine. I used butter. This is the first time I've made it and I was worried because.. 1. I NEVER bake with Margarine, so I used butter. Wasn't sure if it would make a difference. If it did, I didn't notice. ;) 2. When I baked for the full time specified, it still didn't seem "set" but I took it out anyway and as it cooled, it became the perfect consistency. Our favorite part is the top of the pie. Delish! The whole family raved about it. The sweetness is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I had to cook it an extra 20 minutes it seems! The texture is too gelatinous for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Yummm. Wouldn't change a thing. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
So easy and so yummy! I may cut the sugar a bit next time, it was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Wow, this was very yummy and very simple! I did pre-bake the crust about 5 min. I dont know if it was necessary, but the crust came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very very good! After trying this several times I have made a few changes. I use Brown sugar instead of white, but reduced the amount to 1 cup. For us this is just right! Not to sweet! I also increased the flower to 4 Tbls. I also reduced the salt to just under 1/4 teaspoon. This recipe is better than money!! Thank you Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States