Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Wow so so good. I made this tonight and it is incredible! Smelled so good I had a slice while the pie was still warm. Unbelievably yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This pie was good. I have had better buttermilk pie and I have had worse. I had a problem with butter "pooling" on top of my pie while it was baking. I have never had this happen before. This made me have to bake the pie longer. Don't get me wrong I ate the whole pie (over a few days) but I feel like there are better recipes for this pie. Make sure you cream the butter with the sugar. That is the most important part! If I am in need of a quick dessert I might come back to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was great! I did reduce the sugar by 1/2 cup and it was still pretty sweet. Super easy to make, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
would of received 5 stars if not soooo sweet! made again with 1 1/4 cup sugar and was much better ...also didn't have the "deep" pie shell , so made 2 pies instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
It was good but it was too sweet, next time I will use less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I made this pie as written but did eliminate a small amount of sugar. The cooking time and temperatures are right on. An excellent pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
FANTASTIC! Normally, I always follow ingredients exactly the FIRST time I make it, however, I thought butter would be better than margarine. Other than that, I followed the directions & ingredients exactly. I would recommend watching your cooking time carefully & removing the pie while it still has a "jiggle" to the dead center. If you don't like rich & sweet pie, this is NOT your recipe. My family thought the flavor was slightly reminiscent of creme brulee'. I served this warm with a dollop of not-too-sweet homemade whipped cream. It was HEAVENLY! This did not have an "eggy" flavor like some of the other buttermilk pie recipes I had tried. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was pretty dang good. I had never had it before, and it tastes of a combination of caramel and toffee with a texture between cheesecake and pudding - it is firm, but creamy. If you have ever cooked butter on the stove and tasted the change, it is similar. I used a store-bought crust - be sure to use deep dish, or else you'll have leftover filling. Everyone at work, to my surprise, raved over this. And it is VERY easy. I will definitely have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Outstanding....I had made this pie years ago when I was first married and lost the recipe in all our moves, but coming across this was a godsend. Tasted exactly how I remember. Sweet and delicious. Very easy to make and good warm or cold. Thanks so much Carla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Santos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
YUM!!!!! Turned out wonderfully. I followed the directions exactly, well except for the Margarine. I used butter. This is the first time I've made it and I was worried because.. 1. I NEVER bake with Margarine, so I used butter. Wasn't sure if it would make a difference. If it did, I didn't notice. ;) 2. When I baked for the full time specified, it still didn't seem "set" but I took it out anyway and as it cooled, it became the perfect consistency. Our favorite part is the top of the pie. Delish! The whole family raved about it. The sweetness is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States