Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS! I have NEVER had this pie before. It was like a combination of butterscotch and vanilla and melt in your mouth GOOD! The only thing I wasn't sure of was whether or not I should pre-bake the crust... I did not.. and it turned out SMASHING! Anytime I have leftover buttermilk from my famous pancakes, I am most certainly going to make this pie again and again! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I followed the instructions exactly and the only change I made was a sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar on the top before baking. If you like pecan pie but find it to be too rich then I encourage you to try this one. It is very similar in flavor but not nearly as heavy and rich as pecan pie. In fact,the next time I make it I'm going to try it as a base for a pecan pie. It couldn't be easier to make and the ingredients are very inexpensive. All I had to buy was the buttermilk. And don't worry if you hate buttermilk (as I certainly do) you won't even taste it. This is a very creamy, sweet, and highly addictive pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was the BEST pie! I had never made it before...and my family just raved over it. However, I did take the advice of one reviewer and instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 3/4, and I had forgotten to buy a deep dish so I divided the pies into two regular 9" shells and baked two pies. It turned out great and I have already shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Really easy. I used a bit less sugar. It was gone in minutes. Everyone liked it and several -Northerners ;)had never heard of buttermilk pie and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I have made this recipe several times. I follow this recipe to a tee. I found this here on All recipes a couple years ago. You can not go wrong with this pie. It is delicious and SO easy. I have tried several things. Fat Free buttermilk is not good at all. For a richer creamer pie use Bavarian Buttermilk. Try this pie you'll fall in love with it. THANKS to the submitter it's a family favorite around the holidays.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Love this receipe! So easy to make and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
All I can say is....DELICIOUS. Everyone loved it. Will make it again and again. Served with fresh strawberries and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My family absolutely loved this recipe. This is one I'll definitely keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I had never heard of this pie before and initially I was skeptical - sounded boring. BOY, WAS I WRONG! It was DELICIOUS!! I even tried to convince my 13-year old that he wouldn't like it and that he should give his piece to me. He took one bite and said "No way"! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
This Buttermilk Pie was delicious. I didn't feel that is had too much sugar. I followed the recipe exactly. I may use two regular pie crust next time and decrease the cooking time when using two crust. Thanks for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States