Buttermilk Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Love this receipe! So easy to make and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
All I can say is....DELICIOUS. Everyone loved it. Will make it again and again. Served with fresh strawberries and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Although it was great overall, I think it would be better with a little less sugar. To me, it tasted like almost pure sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
OH MY GOODNESS! I have NEVER had this pie before. It was like a combination of butterscotch and vanilla and melt in your mouth GOOD! The only thing I wasn't sure of was whether or not I should pre-bake the crust... I did not.. and it turned out SMASHING! Anytime I have leftover buttermilk from my famous pancakes, I am most certainly going to make this pie again and again! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My family absolutely loved this recipe. This is one I'll definitely keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Very Good! This pie was so simple and delicious. I had never had buttermilk pie before, and this was a smash. I did add some tart apples to the recipe for just some added fruit, by barely getting them tender over low heat with some sugar and cinnamon. I added this before I poured the filling into the pie, some of the apples floated to the top, and baked up absolutely gorgeous and were very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was the BEST pie! I had never made it before...and my family just raved over it. However, I did take the advice of one reviewer and instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 3/4, and I had forgotten to buy a deep dish so I divided the pies into two regular 9" shells and baked two pies. It turned out great and I have already shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I had never heard of this pie before and initially I was skeptical - sounded boring. BOY, WAS I WRONG! It was DELICIOUS!! I even tried to convince my 13-year old that he wouldn't like it and that he should give his piece to me. He took one bite and said "No way"! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This pie was very good with a rich, tangy, buttery custard that melts in your mouth. I took the recommendation of another reviewer and cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, but I felt like it was still too sweet. I like to taste the flavor of the dish, not just the sugar. Next time, I'll cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup. Otherwise a very easy and very tasty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
My children and I have insatiable appetites for sweets. We can eat pounds of candy, or brown sugar right out of the bag--if I were to allow it. So when I read the warnings about this pie being too sweet, I thought, "There's no such thing as too sweet!" Well, let me tell you, this is too sweet. Way too sweet. Even my children complained! If I make this again I'll use only 1 1/2 cups sugar, or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States