Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amie McKnight
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
easy to put together and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
W-A-Y too much sugar, half would be plenty and cut back on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
this was a great recipe, i have read where people had bad luck with it, that it was soupy... if you melt the butter then it is soupy so dont melt it :) God bless :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
So very close to a recipe I have been searching to match for over 25 years. My husband says this is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SepulvedaMom
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Oh yum. I was concerned when I pulled it out of the oven because it was still fairly liquid, but after chilling, it turned into the best, creamiest custard. Easy to make AND this good? Oh yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This is a really good recipe! I used only 1 cup of sugar and about 1/2 cup of flour to prevent having a runny pie. Modifications made the pie perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Augustine, Texas, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I love this! People never know what it is until I tell them. I make minis using a mini muffin pan, no fail pie crust 3 and a biscuit cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made one today, made one yesterday - both perfect. Thanks for the great recipe! - Eggs room temperature. Butter WAY softened /partially melted (it was sitting on the stove). Mixed ingredients together in proper order - cream the butter and sugar together first, etc. Followed the recipe exactly (well, i used a 'soup spoon' for the flour - 3 soup spoons of flour - ha - that's what i grabbed out of the drawer, and I didn't measure the nutmeg, I lightly sprinkled it across the top of the pie. I've made more than a few Buttermilk Pies from recipes on this site and this one is my fave. I finally determined that I prefer my Buttermilk Pie without lemon juice. Since discovering these last year, I have made at least a dozen of them, following the different recipes on this site, and not one of them has ever turned out soupy. I am FINALLY getting over my fear of discovering I have cooked an 'Egg-Soup Pie' when I open my oven door. I am not a "Pie Whisperer" - however, I do live at a pretty high altitude (5,000 ft) which causes some baking issues, but not for this kind of pie, in fact, the altitude is probably what makes this style of pie turn out perfectly every time (word to the wise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Simmons
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used all purpose gluten free flour, poured directly into shallow Pyrex pie pan and topped w/cinnamon. Co-workers loved it! I've made a second one (see posted pic) for a co-worker native to southern TX that said this pie was part of his childhood. I'll keep you posted to see if it passes muster with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was heaven! The flavor was divine-silky, smooth! It created a wonderful caramelized crust on the top and the rest was creamy! I made two and froze one for upcoming Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States