Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I had leftover buttermilk from an Irish soda bread for St. Patrick's Day and searched for buttermilk recipes. TGhis was my first introducation to buttermilk pie. Great recipe. I also made my first successfull pie crust and the filling fit perfectly. I followed the temp and cooking time and it was golden brown with a thin, sweet and crisp top to the pie. I did use lowfat buttermilk so I dissolved 1 tsp. of cornstarch in the buttermilk before adding it. I really want to try it with egg beaters and margarine but I'm sure it won't be the same. My husband LOVES LOVES LOVES this recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I uppped the flour in this recipe from 3 Tbls to a little more than one cup. I did this because I had made the buttermilk IV recipe and it was way too custardy and runny. I was trying to find a recipe that was more of a spongy kind of pie, from a recipe that I loved at a Utah restaurant. Anyway, upping the flour turned this cake into a recipe of its own, so maybe I will post it seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is my families favorite. It doesn't stay around long. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I liked this pie alright, though I did think it was really sweet and not as smooth and creamy as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
this is a wonderful recipe!! I love these pies - delicious thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Wow! This is like creme brulee pie! I followed directions exactly except I used a deep dish pie crust and increased cooking time to 70 min. Make sure you wrap the crust edge with foil so it doesn't burn. After you take the first piece soak up syrup in pan with a paper towel and there should be no more seeping. I found this to be spectacular after being refrigerated for a few hours. The best pie I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I made this for my mom on mother's day and she really liked it. I cooked it a wee bit longer than 60 minutes. Mine didn't darken alot, possibly due to the small sprinkling of nutmeg. I may use a tad bit less butter, but I loved the buttery, sweet, slightly tangy flavor. I will definately be making this alot. Its soooooo easy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Purnell-Berberich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was the first buttermilk pie I've ever made - and it tasted great! I did cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, and there was still a small pool of clear syrup in the pie plate after I'd taken a slice. I'm not sure if there's a way to prevent that. All in all, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
very good pie! I made this last evening and we ate half a pie. Very rich maybe too sweet but still very good. I bake mine a little longer as I saw previous raters mention. I baked it for 1 hour and ten minutes. Once it sits after baking it dries up a little more making a perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Used 2% buttermilk and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, but it was delicious. I did have to cook slightly longer, but that could have been my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States