Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
very good!!! i had never had buttermilk pie before and decided to try this one. everyone loved it! I did increase the flour from 3 tsp. to 2 tablespoons and it set up wonderfully! I also covered the edges of the pie crust with foil before baking to prevent it from browning too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
first let me say it only cost me $10 to make 4 of these pies which i took to work for a Xmas function. i was asked to make 15 more and offered $5 a pie to do so. hello what a prfit for so little work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tishomingo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
My husband loves this pie!! It's definitely his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great recipe. Easy and Yummy. I followed it as written and it turned out so good. I used a frozen crust and did not thaw the crust before baking the pie. After baking I let it cool then refridgerated the whole pie. We ate it the next day, almost at room temp. Was not runny. Great custard texture. Will make again, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKH1515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I love buttermilk pie, but we melt the butter over low-med heat then add only 1 cup sugar and flour, then gently whisk into buttermilk mixture. Create a foil tent over the prebaked crust and batter. Bake at 350 for 45-50min. It comes out perfectly. Spongey and not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa S.A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I shouldn't be rating this as I don't like custard type pie but the hubby said it was wonderful. I too cut the sugar and had to cook a little longer. It was an easy pie to make and I will probably add a little coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Delicious! For some reason, the crust stuck to the pan, I don't usually grease the pan for pies, but maybe this one needs it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Turned out absolutely perfect and delicious! I made the recipe to the letter, not changing a thing, and I couldn't be more pleased. The only hard part is keeping a straight face to get your kids to try it before you break the news there's buttermilk (ewwwww) in it. Some adults, too. But once they've got a bite of it in their mouths, they're sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Detter Margul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Oops...I goofed. This is a wonderful, old-fashioned pie. I made it yesterday, and when I came back today to rate this recipe, I realized I made a mistake, but it worked well. I added 3 TABLESPOONS flour, and mixed it in after creaming the butter and sugar. Then added the remaining ingredients. My pie turned out great, very custardy, and I have had very minimal liquid run-off because of the extra flour. No floury taste or consistency, however, and I think that's because I creamed the flour into the butter/sugar mixture thoroughly before adding the eggs, vanilla, and buttermilk. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this pie last night, reducing the sugar to 1 cup (unless you really, really, like overly sweet stuff, I can't imagine wanting the additional 1/2 cup--I thought it was still verging on too-sweet with only 1 cup). I was pretty happy with it, with the only hesitation being that I thought it was a little too spongy. Then, I come here to review it and I realize that it said 3 teaspoons of flour not 3 tablespoons like I put in. Oops! So maybe it would be more custard-y if I hadn't done that (and more what I was looking for). Otherwise, one of the simplest recipes, yet tastes good. I used a deep-dish crust and thought it could have used more filling. I used a buttermilk crust from the Pie and Pastry Bible. Yum! Only 5 stars because even if I had made it correctly I don't think it would have blown me away. However, people at work are going CRAZY over this pie. They are already asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States