Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Easy! Quick! Tastes Excellent! I used store bought packaged crusts to save time. Everyone loved these pies! Did not change a thing. Made as written. Will definitely make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I had never made a buttermilk pie before, and this was a very easy recipe to follow. I didn't make any alterations (okay, a tiny bit more vanilla). Prepared in a 9" pie crust. I held a little bit of the filling out, b/c I thought it would overflow. Next time I'll put it all in. It would have been fine. The pie went fast and people were scraping the crumbs out of the bottom of the pie pan. I'm making another for Thanksgiving with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this pie exactly as directed...it was so soupy and I baked it about 75 min! I think flour amt is incorrect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I usually make fruit pies and so this one was really different for me. I had left over buttermilk from pancakes that I wanted to use up. After reading reviews I used 3 tbsp flour and only 1 1/4 cup sugar. It turned out really really good. Not runny at all and it was just sweet enough. My 16 yr old daughter ate 1/2 the pie! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorefield, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used Benecol(R) instead of butter, Splenda(R) /Sugar Blend(use half as much as in recipe), & low-fat buttermilk. Also used a deep-dish pie shell. Very easy pie to make. Smells & tastes like a delicious custard pie. (Keep it in the fridge & use a paper towel to soak up excess liquid after first slice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a very sweet pie and delicious! I think it tastes better chilled - it's still sweet but it's much firmer and the sweetness isn't overpowering like it is when the pie is still warm from the oven - you can taste the buttermilk, butter, eggs better once it's been chilled. Only thing I did differently was 1) I used a deep dish 9" crust and the filling fit perfectly and 2) I used 2 TBSP flour instead of the 3 tsp. Also, I know alot of people melted the butter first but I didn't. I just let the butter come to room temp so it is soft and then I just creamed the butter and sugar together. Also, I did bake it for 70 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This tasted way better than I expected. I thought I might like it. I loved it. The top had a slight gritty/crunchiness to it, reminding me of creme brule. I cannot wait to make this for my father. In my opinion, it is too much for a regulat 9" crust but not quite enough for a deep dish. I chose not to use the whole batter and made a regular crust pie. In the future, I will double the recipe and use three pie shells. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was my first try at a Buttermilk pie, and everyone loved it. I enjoyed it too, a very old fashioned style pie that is plain but good. To enjoy the flavor of the filling, don't go too heavy on the nutmeg. This would also be good with fresh raspberries or blackberries added into the filling when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very easy to make and smells INCREDIBLE when it's baking. One reviewer called it "Creme Brulee Pie" and it does have a thin, sweet crispy crust like creme brulee. I was expecting a custard pie, but this is a more dense, syrupy pie, similar to pecan pie in sweetness and texture. If you're expecting a CUSTARD pie, this isn't it. It was a bit sweet on its own for my taste, BUT ... when a covered a slice in fresh strawberries and unsweetened whipped cream, it was SPECTACULAR! The combo is just perfect ... sweet pie, tart berries, unsweetened cream ... like the best shortcake ever. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Easy and yummy, but a bit too sweet... might try again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States