Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The most helpful review of this pie shows them altering it to add a cup of flour?! This is ridiculous. The buttermilk pie was runny because they didn't incorporate the ingredients properly. This pie has a lot of liquid, so you have to be careful. Buttermilk pie looks easy, but that's because the ingredients are so simple. It takes technique to combine. Start with room temp. ingredients, and make it easy on yourself and do the first 3 ingredients first and blend well. I melted my butter instead of softening it and it came together much better. When adding the eggs, do one at a time and make sure its incorporated well before adding the next. Then the buttermilk and vanilla. Overall, not a bad recipe for buttermilk pie on this site. It is one of the best out of the 5 others I've made and reviewed on this AR. The baking time should be tweaked, as with all custard pies you can partially blind bake the pie shell, or bake it on the lowest rack for 400 for 10-15 min to set the crust and then lower to the posted temp. until it's set. This easily prevents soggy bottom crust. Buttermilk pie is done when it doesn't jiggle. Don't overbake the pie. It's not supposed to be dark brown on top. Who likes dark brown scrambled eggs? Ew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
It tastes pretty good. I used a store bought pie crust mix. It did seem a bit too sweet to me, but if you like really sweet then don't change it. As for the flour amount, some reviews said it was supposed to be 3 tablespoons instead of teaspoons, others said it was perfect the way it was, so I just doubled it. After 60 minutes of baking, the center was still very runny, so I baked it another 10 minutes or so, and in the end it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I am wondering if the amount of flour in this recipe is an error? Most of the other recipes for buttermilk pie on here call for 3 TBSP of flour. Perhaps that is why one reviewer's pie turned out soupy? Anyways . . . I made this exactly as written EXCEPT I put in 3 TBSP flour. (instead of 3 tsp). It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't really care for it. I remember living in the TN. and granny making buttermilk pie all the time. Maybe that's my problem is. I compare good O'l home recipes with a twist of something that granny left out on purpose. Thanks, it was worth a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
awesome pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was my first attempt at making a buttermilk pie, and it actually turned out well; the only problem is that it tasted exactly like a regular egg custard pie. So while it was still good, I was a little disappointed; I was looking for something a little richer, with a little more flavor.The only change I made was reducing the sugar slightly, to just over one cup, after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
a little soupy, much better served cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful buttermilk pie recipe, almost identical to the one my family has baked for years. The only difference is the recipe (which I can't find!!!) that my family uses, cooks about 90 minutes, but for the last 30 or so minutes the temperature is reduced (maybe even turned off). I'm happy with this recipe though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Had leftover buttermilk from another dish I made. So I decided to give this a try, I'm so glad I did it's great. Husband and kids devoured it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States