Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Oh yum. I was concerned when I pulled it out of the oven because it was still fairly liquid, but after chilling, it turned into the best, creamiest custard. Easy to make AND this good? Oh yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This is a really good recipe! I used only 1 cup of sugar and about 1/2 cup of flour to prevent having a runny pie. Modifications made the pie perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Augustine, Texas, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I love this! People never know what it is until I tell them. I make minis using a mini muffin pan, no fail pie crust 3 and a biscuit cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made one today, made one yesterday - both perfect. Thanks for the great recipe! - Eggs room temperature. Butter WAY softened /partially melted (it was sitting on the stove). Mixed ingredients together in proper order - cream the butter and sugar together first, etc. Followed the recipe exactly (well, i used a 'soup spoon' for the flour - 3 soup spoons of flour - ha - that's what i grabbed out of the drawer, and I didn't measure the nutmeg, I lightly sprinkled it across the top of the pie. I've made more than a few Buttermilk Pies from recipes on this site and this one is my fave. I finally determined that I prefer my Buttermilk Pie without lemon juice. Since discovering these last year, I have made at least a dozen of them, following the different recipes on this site, and not one of them has ever turned out soupy. I am FINALLY getting over my fear of discovering I have cooked an 'Egg-Soup Pie' when I open my oven door. I am not a "Pie Whisperer" - however, I do live at a pretty high altitude (5,000 ft) which causes some baking issues, but not for this kind of pie, in fact, the altitude is probably what makes this style of pie turn out perfectly every time (word to the wise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Simmonska
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used all purpose gluten free flour, poured directly into shallow Pyrex pie pan and topped w/cinnamon. Co-workers loved it! I've made a second one (see posted pic) for a co-worker native to southern TX that said this pie was part of his childhood. I'll keep you posted to see if it passes muster with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was heaven! The flavor was divine-silky, smooth! It created a wonderful caramelized crust on the top and the rest was creamy! I made two and froze one for upcoming Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've made this before but I added 1/2 cup of Gooseberry's. I have a 4yr old grandson who loves this pie. He's a little sour puss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Creamy and delicious custard pie. Did use 3 TABLESPOONS of flour and no issues with setting up. While a deep-dish pie pan is probably called for, I guess mine was a little too deep as the filling ended up being nearly an inch short of the rim. Oops! Still tasted great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The most helpful review of this pie shows them altering it to add a cup of flour?! This is ridiculous. The buttermilk pie was runny because they didn't incorporate the ingredients properly. This pie has a lot of liquid, so you have to be careful. Buttermilk pie looks easy, but that's because the ingredients are so simple. It takes technique to combine. Start with room temp. ingredients, and make it easy on yourself and do the first 3 ingredients first and blend well. I melted my butter instead of softening it and it came together much better. When adding the eggs, do one at a time and make sure its incorporated well before adding the next. Then the buttermilk and vanilla. Overall, not a bad recipe for buttermilk pie on this site. It is one of the best out of the 5 others I've made and reviewed on this AR. The baking time should be tweaked, as with all custard pies you can partially blind bake the pie shell, or bake it on the lowest rack for 400 for 10-15 min to set the crust and then lower to the posted temp. until it's set. This easily prevents soggy bottom crust. Buttermilk pie is done when it doesn't jiggle. Don't overbake the pie. It's not supposed to be dark brown on top. Who likes dark brown scrambled eggs? Ew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
It tastes pretty good. I used a store bought pie crust mix. It did seem a bit too sweet to me, but if you like really sweet then don't change it. As for the flour amount, some reviews said it was supposed to be 3 tablespoons instead of teaspoons, others said it was perfect the way it was, so I just doubled it. After 60 minutes of baking, the center was still very runny, so I baked it another 10 minutes or so, and in the end it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States