Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This pie is really good! I made several during the Holiday season and they really went over well! I have never made one of these before, so I don't know if this is normal, but after you cut a piece of pie, a clear liquid drains into the empty spot eventually. So I started putting a piece of a paper towel there to absorb it. The pie is delicious. Use a deep dish crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Absolutly the BEST buttermilk pie! I was a bad girl! :-) I didn't tell my children what was in the pie. THEY LOVED IT! Now at my house it is called Custard Pie. They will NEVER know. :-))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Good... Reminds me of an egg custard pie. It would be good to throw some cocount in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Awesome just awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
yum, yum, yum, yum, yum!!! This was so easy and turned out amazing! I forgot to put the nutmeg on top, but it still tastes wonderful. I also used a deep dish pie crust which I think you'd have to use to hold it all. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I made this recipe @ xmas. It was just the best. The nutmeg really did the trick. I made four and gave them as xmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Dee-licious. I made this pie for a dinner party, with 1 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. My friends had never eated buttermilk pie before and were astounded by its amazingness. Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was great!! The pie did not even last long enough for it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I followed the recipe to the letter, but wound up with 1/3 a cup of the liquid left over after I filled the pie to overflowing (deep dish shell too!) It was good, very sweet, but funny looking as the nutmeg kind of darkened as it baked, cracked and split so islands of it floated away on the butter. I had to get the turkey baster out to suck up all the butter oozing out the top from the middle. We ate it hot, and it reminded me of eating pure honey from a spoon with the sweet taste lingering in the back of my throat. I might make it again because it was very easy to make, but I don't think i'd make it for company because the looks, and texture leave a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Delicious. Very sweet pie, but really good. I'd never made a buttermilk pie and wasn't sure how it would turn out. The kids really liked it and it was amazingly easy and quick to make. Definately shake the nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States