Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
this is a wonderful recipe!! I love these pies - delicious thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Wow! This is like creme brulee pie! I followed directions exactly except I used a deep dish pie crust and increased cooking time to 70 min. Make sure you wrap the crust edge with foil so it doesn't burn. After you take the first piece soak up syrup in pan with a paper towel and there should be no more seeping. I found this to be spectacular after being refrigerated for a few hours. The best pie I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I made this for my mom on mother's day and she really liked it. I cooked it a wee bit longer than 60 minutes. Mine didn't darken alot, possibly due to the small sprinkling of nutmeg. I may use a tad bit less butter, but I loved the buttery, sweet, slightly tangy flavor. I will definately be making this alot. Its soooooo easy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Purnell-Berberich

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was the first buttermilk pie I've ever made - and it tasted great! I did cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, and there was still a small pool of clear syrup in the pie plate after I'd taken a slice. I'm not sure if there's a way to prevent that. All in all, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
very good pie! I made this last evening and we ate half a pie. Very rich maybe too sweet but still very good. I bake mine a little longer as I saw previous raters mention. I baked it for 1 hour and ten minutes. Once it sits after baking it dries up a little more making a perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Used 2% buttermilk and cinnamon instead of nutmeg, but it was delicious. I did have to cook slightly longer, but that could have been my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Deliciously sweet. It came out just a bit runny so I recommend another 15 minutes of baking or so. The slightly crusty top adds to the flavor...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I cooked this for an hour and a half and it was so runny inside, when i tried to take a piece out it was like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
So great! I have eaten buttermilk pie my whole life, and this one is as close to my aunt't as I have ever had! I used a regular 9-in. crust (not deep dish) and used up all the batter...so maybe all those other people were using 8-in? Well, it's REALLY good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was by far the best buttermilk pie recipe I have ever tried. It was delicious. Everyone loved it...my friend took it to his boss's house for a Thanksgiving party and it was a huge hit. Only change is that I recommend using deep dish pie crust like some other users had recommended. It was soooo good. I doubled it and made 2 pies and they are gone after less than 24 hours. Am making another one tonight for my Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States