Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I love buttermilk pie, but we melt the butter over low-med heat then add only 1 cup sugar and flour, then gently whisk into buttermilk mixture. Create a foil tent over the prebaked crust and batter. Bake at 350 for 45-50min. It comes out perfectly. Spongey and not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa S.A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I shouldn't be rating this as I don't like custard type pie but the hubby said it was wonderful. I too cut the sugar and had to cook a little longer. It was an easy pie to make and I will probably add a little coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Delicious! For some reason, the crust stuck to the pan, I don't usually grease the pan for pies, but maybe this one needs it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Krebs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Turned out absolutely perfect and delicious! I made the recipe to the letter, not changing a thing, and I couldn't be more pleased. The only hard part is keeping a straight face to get your kids to try it before you break the news there's buttermilk (ewwwww) in it. Some adults, too. But once they've got a bite of it in their mouths, they're sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Detter Margul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Oops...I goofed. This is a wonderful, old-fashioned pie. I made it yesterday, and when I came back today to rate this recipe, I realized I made a mistake, but it worked well. I added 3 TABLESPOONS flour, and mixed it in after creaming the butter and sugar. Then added the remaining ingredients. My pie turned out great, very custardy, and I have had very minimal liquid run-off because of the extra flour. No floury taste or consistency, however, and I think that's because I creamed the flour into the butter/sugar mixture thoroughly before adding the eggs, vanilla, and buttermilk. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this pie last night, reducing the sugar to 1 cup (unless you really, really, like overly sweet stuff, I can't imagine wanting the additional 1/2 cup--I thought it was still verging on too-sweet with only 1 cup). I was pretty happy with it, with the only hesitation being that I thought it was a little too spongy. Then, I come here to review it and I realize that it said 3 teaspoons of flour not 3 tablespoons like I put in. Oops! So maybe it would be more custard-y if I hadn't done that (and more what I was looking for). Otherwise, one of the simplest recipes, yet tastes good. I used a deep-dish crust and thought it could have used more filling. I used a buttermilk crust from the Pie and Pastry Bible. Yum! Only 5 stars because even if I had made it correctly I don't think it would have blown me away. However, people at work are going CRAZY over this pie. They are already asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Great recipe. I reduced the sugar, as others had suggested. Very nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I have made it several times according to the recipe, and I have also added 1 cup of whole pecans to it right before baking and created a delicious alternative to pecan pie without using corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Followed recipe exactly and it was really good. I could really taste the butter flavor, might cut that back a little if you don't want a lot of butter flavor. My father loved it for his birthday and said it tasted better than the kind he got at his favorite place. This was my first Buttermilk pie, so I don't know how they're supposed to taste, but it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Delicious!! took the pie crust recipe from the "all-american apple pie" recipe you can find at this site (that crust is scrumptious.... and extremely easy!!) Added an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract and reduced the amount of sugar to 1cup, even after that i thought it was too sweet, even for my sweet tooth. Also cut back on butter, what's more, i had to use margarine because i run out of butter but it still came out good. I even had to make my own buttermilk since here in Spain it's impossible to buy it (mixed 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 1 cup milk together, plus 1/2 teaspoon corntarch...). Thanks for the recipe, sure i'll be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States