Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My kids went nuts for this recipe! I did misread the directions and used 3 tablespoons of flour instead of 3 teaspoons. When I realized my mistake I just crossed my fingers and prayed since it was already in the oven before I noticed. My oven runs hot and is touchy, it burns everything that bakes for long periods of time so I made a tinfoil tent and baked at 325 for an hour (which would be 350 in most ovens) the middle was still soupy so I jacked it up to 350 (375 for everyone else's oven) and baked it another 20 minutes. It should be a custard consistency throughout when done. I also added cinnamon, I couldn't help myself no pie from blueberry to buttermilk is complete without it in my mind. I've never seen a pie slice disappear so quickly in my house. Next time I will make baked cinnamon apple slices to top and maybe some whipped cream to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I thought this pie tasted wonderful, just needs a few tweaks. I thought it was a little too sweet, I think a cup would probably do it. I also thought it was a little too liquidy. I may add 2 TB of flour to see if it is a little thicker. I also think I will bake the pie crust first before putting in filling. Maybe that will help with the soft crust. I think the author must have forgot to add some steps, because it does not turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This pie is spectacular. Really different texture, like a cross between custard and mousse, but absolutely delicious! My boyfriend is not a big dessert guy, but he absolutely loved this pie! Great warm or cold, especially with some fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This pie is absolutely delicious! I have made plenty of buttermilk pies but this one is the best. My sister, who hates everything even took half of my pie home with her! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
very good!!! i had never had buttermilk pie before and decided to try this one. everyone loved it! I did increase the flour from 3 tsp. to 2 tablespoons and it set up wonderfully! I also covered the edges of the pie crust with foil before baking to prevent it from browning too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
first let me say it only cost me $10 to make 4 of these pies which i took to work for a Xmas function. i was asked to make 15 more and offered $5 a pie to do so. hello what a prfit for so little work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tishomingo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
My husband loves this pie!! It's definitely his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great recipe. Easy and Yummy. I followed it as written and it turned out so good. I used a frozen crust and did not thaw the crust before baking the pie. After baking I let it cool then refridgerated the whole pie. We ate it the next day, almost at room temp. Was not runny. Great custard texture. Will make again, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKH1515

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I love buttermilk pie, but we melt the butter over low-med heat then add only 1 cup sugar and flour, then gently whisk into buttermilk mixture. Create a foil tent over the prebaked crust and batter. Bake at 350 for 45-50min. It comes out perfectly. Spongey and not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa S.A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I shouldn't be rating this as I don't like custard type pie but the hubby said it was wonderful. I too cut the sugar and had to cook a little longer. It was an easy pie to make and I will probably add a little coconut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States