Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used Benecol(R) instead of butter, Splenda(R) /Sugar Blend(use half as much as in recipe), & low-fat buttermilk. Also used a deep-dish pie shell. Very easy pie to make. Smells & tastes like a delicious custard pie. (Keep it in the fridge & use a paper towel to soak up excess liquid after first slice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a very sweet pie and delicious! I think it tastes better chilled - it's still sweet but it's much firmer and the sweetness isn't overpowering like it is when the pie is still warm from the oven - you can taste the buttermilk, butter, eggs better once it's been chilled. Only thing I did differently was 1) I used a deep dish 9" crust and the filling fit perfectly and 2) I used 2 TBSP flour instead of the 3 tsp. Also, I know alot of people melted the butter first but I didn't. I just let the butter come to room temp so it is soft and then I just creamed the butter and sugar together. Also, I did bake it for 70 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This tasted way better than I expected. I thought I might like it. I loved it. The top had a slight gritty/crunchiness to it, reminding me of creme brule. I cannot wait to make this for my father. In my opinion, it is too much for a regulat 9" crust but not quite enough for a deep dish. I chose not to use the whole batter and made a regular crust pie. In the future, I will double the recipe and use three pie shells. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was my first try at a Buttermilk pie, and everyone loved it. I enjoyed it too, a very old fashioned style pie that is plain but good. To enjoy the flavor of the filling, don't go too heavy on the nutmeg. This would also be good with fresh raspberries or blackberries added into the filling when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very easy to make and smells INCREDIBLE when it's baking. One reviewer called it "Creme Brulee Pie" and it does have a thin, sweet crispy crust like creme brulee. I was expecting a custard pie, but this is a more dense, syrupy pie, similar to pecan pie in sweetness and texture. If you're expecting a CUSTARD pie, this isn't it. It was a bit sweet on its own for my taste, BUT ... when a covered a slice in fresh strawberries and unsweetened whipped cream, it was SPECTACULAR! The combo is just perfect ... sweet pie, tart berries, unsweetened cream ... like the best shortcake ever. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Easy and yummy, but a bit too sweet... might try again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandeen Gemanis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I had some leftover buttermilk to use. This was awesome....loved by everyone at my party. Based on other reviews I did add a 'handful' more of flour. It turned out perfect. I will make it many more times. Quick to prepare....a lil long on the bake time, but well worth the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the filling and it was just like my nana used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was delicious and just what I needed. Since moving from Austin and being 8 months pregnant, I was craving the buttermilk pie from Hoover's Cooking (a Southern cooking restaurant in Austin). This tasted pretty close to their spectacular buttermilk pie but I think the key is to add a little nutmeg or cinnamon into the pie and then sprinkle more on top. If anyone knows the exact recipe from Hoover's - let me know! I did have to bake this 70 minutes like most of the reviewers said and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
First of all, this recipe is silly easy to make. I had been trying to make a buttermilk pie on and off for literally six years. I would follow the recipe strictly, but the pie would always come out too runny, no matter how long I cooked it. Finally, one of the reviewers on here pointed out that they accidentally misread the ingredients, and the pie came out great. Then another reviewer wrote that she deliberately altered the recipe in one key way to make it less runny. What I did was follow the recipe included except for three things: I used 3 tablespoons of flour instead of 3 teaspoons; I used 1.25 cups of sugar instead of 1.5 cups, and I also added maybe 0.75 tablespoons of cornstarch to the buttermilk I had, since it was 1% fat buttermilk, and I wasn't sure whether all buttermilk was supposed to be that low fat (this was also suggested by one reviewer). I ended up baking the dish for around 60 minutes or so, and the center came out perfectly no runniness at all, even after cutting out one of the pieces. Good pie, and it takes about 15 minutes to put together, especially when you use a store bought pre made crust like I did. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States