Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful buttermilk pie recipe, almost identical to the one my family has baked for years. The only difference is the recipe (which I can't find!!!) that my family uses, cooks about 90 minutes, but for the last 30 or so minutes the temperature is reduced (maybe even turned off). I'm happy with this recipe though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Had leftover buttermilk from another dish I made. So I decided to give this a try, I'm so glad I did it's great. Husband and kids devoured it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great tasting pie. But, I put too much flour in (9 tbs) because of what other reviewers had said, and it was a bit fluffy towards the top. Being Australian, and not having tried any when we traveled through the South, I don't know what Buttermilk Pie is supposed to taste like or what its texture is supposed to look like. So, I can't say whether this is supposed to be a true buttermilk pie. Regardless, I loved it and will try again, but this time using 3 tbs and using a deeper dish (as I had way too much custard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Nice flavor but way too Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Easy! Quick! Tastes Excellent! I used store bought packaged crusts to save time. Everyone loved these pies! Did not change a thing. Made as written. Will definitely make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I had never made a buttermilk pie before, and this was a very easy recipe to follow. I didn't make any alterations (okay, a tiny bit more vanilla). Prepared in a 9" pie crust. I held a little bit of the filling out, b/c I thought it would overflow. Next time I'll put it all in. It would have been fine. The pie went fast and people were scraping the crumbs out of the bottom of the pie pan. I'm making another for Thanksgiving with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this pie exactly as directed...it was so soupy and I baked it about 75 min! I think flour amt is incorrect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I usually make fruit pies and so this one was really different for me. I had left over buttermilk from pancakes that I wanted to use up. After reading reviews I used 3 tbsp flour and only 1 1/4 cup sugar. It turned out really really good. Not runny at all and it was just sweet enough. My 16 yr old daughter ate 1/2 the pie! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorefield, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used Benecol(R) instead of butter, Splenda(R) /Sugar Blend(use half as much as in recipe), & low-fat buttermilk. Also used a deep-dish pie shell. Very easy pie to make. Smells & tastes like a delicious custard pie. (Keep it in the fridge & use a paper towel to soak up excess liquid after first slice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a very sweet pie and delicious! I think it tastes better chilled - it's still sweet but it's much firmer and the sweetness isn't overpowering like it is when the pie is still warm from the oven - you can taste the buttermilk, butter, eggs better once it's been chilled. Only thing I did differently was 1) I used a deep dish 9" crust and the filling fit perfectly and 2) I used 2 TBSP flour instead of the 3 tsp. Also, I know alot of people melted the butter first but I didn't. I just let the butter come to room temp so it is soft and then I just creamed the butter and sugar together. Also, I did bake it for 70 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States