Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was my first attempt at making a buttermilk pie, and it actually turned out well; the only problem is that it tasted exactly like a regular egg custard pie. So while it was still good, I was a little disappointed; I was looking for something a little richer, with a little more flavor.The only change I made was reducing the sugar slightly, to just over one cup, after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Burton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
a little soupy, much better served cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful buttermilk pie recipe, almost identical to the one my family has baked for years. The only difference is the recipe (which I can't find!!!) that my family uses, cooks about 90 minutes, but for the last 30 or so minutes the temperature is reduced (maybe even turned off). I'm happy with this recipe though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Had leftover buttermilk from another dish I made. So I decided to give this a try, I'm so glad I did it's great. Husband and kids devoured it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great tasting pie. But, I put too much flour in (9 tbs) because of what other reviewers had said, and it was a bit fluffy towards the top. Being Australian, and not having tried any when we traveled through the South, I don't know what Buttermilk Pie is supposed to taste like or what its texture is supposed to look like. So, I can't say whether this is supposed to be a true buttermilk pie. Regardless, I loved it and will try again, but this time using 3 tbs and using a deeper dish (as I had way too much custard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Nice flavor but way too Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Easy! Quick! Tastes Excellent! I used store bought packaged crusts to save time. Everyone loved these pies! Did not change a thing. Made as written. Will definitely make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I had never made a buttermilk pie before, and this was a very easy recipe to follow. I didn't make any alterations (okay, a tiny bit more vanilla). Prepared in a 9" pie crust. I held a little bit of the filling out, b/c I thought it would overflow. Next time I'll put it all in. It would have been fine. The pie went fast and people were scraping the crumbs out of the bottom of the pie pan. I'm making another for Thanksgiving with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this pie exactly as directed...it was so soupy and I baked it about 75 min! I think flour amt is incorrect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States