Buttermilk Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kelly Simmons
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used all purpose gluten free flour, poured directly into shallow Pyrex pie pan and topped w/cinnamon. Co-workers loved it! I've made a second one (see posted pic) for a co-worker native to southern TX that said this pie was part of his childhood. I'll keep you posted to see if it passes muster with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was heaven! The flavor was divine-silky, smooth! It created a wonderful caramelized crust on the top and the rest was creamy! I made two and froze one for upcoming Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've made this before but I added 1/2 cup of Gooseberry's. I have a 4yr old grandson who loves this pie. He's a little sour puss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Creamy and delicious custard pie. Did use 3 TABLESPOONS of flour and no issues with setting up. While a deep-dish pie pan is probably called for, I guess mine was a little too deep as the filling ended up being nearly an inch short of the rim. Oops! Still tasted great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
The most helpful review of this pie shows them altering it to add a cup of flour?! This is ridiculous. The buttermilk pie was runny because they didn't incorporate the ingredients properly. This pie has a lot of liquid, so you have to be careful. Buttermilk pie looks easy, but that's because the ingredients are so simple. It takes technique to combine. Start with room temp. ingredients, and make it easy on yourself and do the first 3 ingredients first and blend well. I melted my butter instead of softening it and it came together much better. When adding the eggs, do one at a time and make sure its incorporated well before adding the next. Then the buttermilk and vanilla. Overall, not a bad recipe for buttermilk pie on this site. It is one of the best out of the 5 others I've made and reviewed on this AR. The baking time should be tweaked, as with all custard pies you can partially blind bake the pie shell, or bake it on the lowest rack for 400 for 10-15 min to set the crust and then lower to the posted temp. until it's set. This easily prevents soggy bottom crust. Buttermilk pie is done when it doesn't jiggle. Don't overbake the pie. It's not supposed to be dark brown on top. Who likes dark brown scrambled eggs? Ew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
It tastes pretty good. I used a store bought pie crust mix. It did seem a bit too sweet to me, but if you like really sweet then don't change it. As for the flour amount, some reviews said it was supposed to be 3 tablespoons instead of teaspoons, others said it was perfect the way it was, so I just doubled it. After 60 minutes of baking, the center was still very runny, so I baked it another 10 minutes or so, and in the end it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I am wondering if the amount of flour in this recipe is an error? Most of the other recipes for buttermilk pie on here call for 3 TBSP of flour. Perhaps that is why one reviewer's pie turned out soupy? Anyways . . . I made this exactly as written EXCEPT I put in 3 TBSP flour. (instead of 3 tsp). It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I didn't really care for it. I remember living in the TN. and granny making buttermilk pie all the time. Maybe that's my problem is. I compare good O'l home recipes with a twist of something that granny left out on purpose. Thanks, it was worth a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
awesome pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States