Buttermilk Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Had a slighty tangy taste . I prefer custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I didn't like this but my husband did so I guess I will just make it for him. Had a bitter taste to me. I also realized u need a deep dish pie crust or u will have too much filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This pie was awesome! The only thing I did different was added a teaspoon of lemon extract, because I like lemon in my buttermilk pie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I've tried several of the buttermilk pie recipes and this was the best! I followed the ingredients exactly and extended the baking time (slightly). This recipe is rich & sweet. If that's not your type of pie, this isn't your recipe. As is, it is not "eggy" as some of the other recipes I had made. My household loves pie - & several mentioned that the flavor is slightly reminiscent of creme brulee'. I served this the first night, slightly warm topped with a dollop of homemade whipped cream which was not too sweet. Lovely! Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Perfect the way it is!! I love that it only calls for 3 eggs. It's the best buttermilk pie I have had to date. I can see adding the zest of an orange or a lemon, coconut, perhaps a liquer, but for now I LOVE it the way it is!! PS Super simple too. I prefer to make my own pie crust. Be sure and prebake your crust 8-10 minutes before you pour filling in...it makes for a flakier crust on bottom. I hate a soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Excellent!!! It is the smoothest custard pie I have ever made; no lumps, bumps nor air holes. I used powdered buttermilk and just rehydrated it with the amount of water called for on the box. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I just made this pie, and OH MY GOSH, it was delicious! I used a graham cracker crust, and added 4 eggs because my 4 year old cracked the eggs for me, and a fair amount of the whites ended up on the counter. I made a blueberry sauce for the top, and I'm confident there will be no left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
used rum flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I used an extra egg as some other reviews suggested and it set wonderfully. The pie had a wonderful texture. But I did not like the way it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Wow. My husband & I love this pie. I did use 4 eggs as suggested by another cook. Also great with fruit in syrups on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexia, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States